"Windowing" on iad2

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by superfish, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. superfish

    superfish iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Northfield,VT
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I'm considering a jailbreak. One of the things that would interest me would be to "window" or run two app at the same time.

    Example: I often have a document with numbers that I would like to add. It would be really helpful to be able to bring up the doc and then run a calculator in the corner of the screen.

    I really don't think this is possible but hope springs eternal.
     
  2. TheRambler

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Have you tried searching through the app descriptions on here, I'm sure i remember reading something on here
     
  3. TheRambler

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    I found Split Screen on App Store, but that only gives you 2 seperste screens, i will keep looking
     
  4. TheRambler

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Quasar does exactly what you want it to do, its in Cydia, so yes Jailbreak is the way forward, its $9.99 so search out the video on you tube to see if thats what you want

    Here you go

    http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri=/&gl=GB
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012
  5. Gzoladz

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    There was a thread specific on Quasar not long ago. Try to find it and read it as the general opinion was that although promising, the tweak still needs some work.

    You may want to make sure before spending your tener.
     
  6. TheRambler

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
  7. superfish

    superfish iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Northfield,VT
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    WOW!! That is Nifty (that's a technical term used in many engineering circles).

    At last I've found a reason to jailbreak. Not today though. Started early cocktail hour. Must have clear head.\

    Thanks for the information.

    bp
     
  8. TheRambler

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Glad we could help, let us know how you get on with the Jailbreak and the app, theres plenty of help on here when you need it
     
  9. Gzoladz

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Do you need reasons to jb? Check out xbmc. Oh man, I am in love with that app.
     
  10. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Please consider however... Quasar, as cool as it is, is not perfectly stable. IOS was not designed for windowing, and it is not all it's cracked up to be!
    I'm a diehard jailbreaker, but flicking back and forth between 2 stock apps using multitasking gestures works on a stock iPad and is pretty effective! Having "windows" is not the utopia you think it might be :)
     
  11. superfish

    superfish iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Northfield,VT
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Yah....But. I'm not wanting to open a whole flock of windows. I just ant to get a couple up so I can add some numbers.
    bp
     
  12. Gzoladz

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    I wanted quasar for exactly the same thing. And it works ok for that.

    The problem was that it started annoying me when I did not need it for that and every time you want to activate it or deactivate it you need to respring.

    Maybe a better solution is the sbsettings calc, although still not ideal.
     
  13. superfish

    superfish iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Northfield,VT
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Just to finish this up and to say thank-you again.
    I did the jailbreak with no problems (after i read the instructions more carefully).
    Installed Quasar. It works fine for me.

    Thanks again I'm off in another world.

    bob
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

quasar ipad ios 6.1.2