Will MicroSIM card work in a laptop as an aircard?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by spinfreak, Apr 20, 2010.

  1. spinfreak
    Offline

    spinfreak iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Forgive me if I am using the incorrect terms...LOL

    Currently I have a Dell laptop with an AT&T 3G Sim/air card, and the $60/mth plan. I'm thinking about getting an Ipad. Obviously the sim in my laptop won't work in the Ipad, since it's a standard sim. Besides that, I'm paying $60/mth for it, so I'd rather get the $30/mth Ipad/ATT plan. If I got an adapter for the microsim, would it work in my laptop, since they're both AT&T, or am I SOL?

    Thanks
  2. col.bris
    Offline

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,571
    Thanks Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +477 / 0
    This is a sticky one I have heard you can cut the sim to make it fit but then you cannot use it in the laptop I cannot answer this one over to Max or some one else
  3. spinfreak
    Offline

    spinfreak iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for the reply, but I'm actually trying to find out the opposite of what you said.....I want to get the new $30 plan for the Ipad, and then get a mirco sim adapter (to make it full size) and use it in my laptop. I'm hoping to see if they micro sim and the $30 plan will work in the laptop, or would it only work in an Ipad? That way I can cancel my current $60/mth plan, and just have the $30 plan, and use the sim in both things. I hardly ever use my current air card anyway, so it's been hard to justify the $60 a month I've been spending.
  4. Seadog
    Offline

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    Theoretically, it should work. OTOH, how would you get to the micro sim on the iPad? As I understand it, it is built into the unit and all you do is activate it. It is not a item you can get from the AT&T store.
  5. Seadog
    Offline

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    I did some research and it does appear that the micro sim is removable. So if you get a card adapter, you can try it and see if it works.
  6. paul65k
    Offline

    paul65k iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    While I hope this works it is most likely that the AT&T system will require the SIMM to be in the device that it is registered to (IMEI number) in this case the iPad....but you never know :)
  7. Edlex
    Offline

    Edlex iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I see where your going with this smarty. Unlimited data for $30 on your laptop. I guess we won't know until these things roll out, but, I would imagine the big greedy att probably did something special to these sims to only work on the ipad. If not then smart guys like you will get a pretty cheap data plans available to them.
  8. spinfreak
    Offline

    spinfreak iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    LOL

    I'm not trying to get anything over on AT&T. Hell, I've been paying the $60/mth to them for about a year and a half now, and literally I've used it maybe 10 hours, if that. I just don't see the point of having another $30/mth subscription for a 2nd device, while still paying for the first one that I hardly use.

    I figured out what I'm going to do. I already ordered a 3g Ipad, and I'm going to activate the $30 plan with it. I'm going to get the adapter to make it a full sized sim, and try it in my laptop. If it works, then great. If it doesn't work, I'm going to cancel both plans and get a MiFi, and just run everything off the MiFi using Wifi. Then I'll at least be saving a few dollars instead of spending 90 bucks a month.

    Thanks y'all for the replies :)
  9. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    I agree that it should be illegal to charge twice for the same service on different devices! You should be able to use it on one at a time!! So if you already have a data plan for your iPhone you should be able to go online and switch it to the iPad and vice verse.
  10. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    That would however mean you waited an extra month and spent an extra $130 for nothing.
  11. spinfreak
    Offline

    spinfreak iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    In essence, that's true, but I like the option of having the 3g function available is/when I ever need/want it. If I had ordered the regular wifi verson and later on wanted 3g (built in), then I'd be screwed.

    Besides, I just preordered mine today, so won't get it until the first week or so of May. I'm not the type that needs to get something as soon as it comes out (although I did get my Iphone 3GS the day it cam eout, but that was just dumb luck). I'm mainly getting the Ipad for work anyway, so no big deal.
  12. kheldour
    Offline

    kheldour iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    chip wise they both are the same. If you find an adapter, then it'll work
  13. spinfreak
    Offline

    spinfreak iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I ordered an adapter already, so that will probably be here before the Ipad. We'll see how it goes. If all goes well, I'll save some money each month. If not, then I get to order a new toy (mifi) ;)
  14. AbblePC
    Offline

    AbblePC iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pa. USA
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I couldn't agree with you more. I hope this is eventually what they are pushed to allowing on their network, even if by the public demanding so by their use habits.

    Otherwise maybe its something that some one will push for in court and if it goes through it will be something competitive with other services and not some contractual raping.

    What I would like to see from AT&T is one flat fee, or any provider for that matter. Something along the lines of $30/Month for unlimited data across the board, even if it has to be one device at a time.
  15. Seadog
    Offline

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    What is more likely to happen is that, in the future, people will be given a choice of a mifi data plan for a higher price, or individual 3G plans like the iPad deal. Since web sites can differentiate between OS being used, it is a possibilty that they can restrict the use of a plan based on the machine it is registered to. So picture a scenario where you get the choice of two $30 3G accounts, or a $60 mifi account. Under the combined account, you can have more than two users at once, which would be good for families. If you have only two computers that may need to be used in different locations, then separate accounts could be best.
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2010
  16. Paffy
    Offline

    Paffy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    MicroSIM adapter works perfect with my data stick that is connected to my laptop. I got my adapter here microsim2sim 2010© | microSIM ADAPTER SHOP [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwaJnB8fMYA]YouTube - micro-SIM adapter in action 2 (inserting into the phone)[/ame]

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i used microsim in my notebook
,
can ipad sim be placed in laptop
,
how does a micro sim work with a laptop
,
how to activate micro sim for ipad using a laptop
,
how to connect micro sim card to labtop'\
,
how to use a phone sim card in an aircard
,

ipad sim card in laptop

,
ipad sim card into laptop
,
ipad unlimited sim in laptop
,

laptop with micro sim

,
laptops wth mirozsim
,

micro sim aircard

,

micro sim laptop

,
notebook aircards sims card
,
sim aircard adapter
,
sim to aircard adpeter
,
use tmo aircard with att sim cards
,

using ipad sim in laptop

,
using same sim in laptop and ipad
,
will my micro sim's card work on my computer