Will iPad recognize an adhoc wifi network created on Windows Computer?

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by NYHorsewoman, Jun 12, 2011.

  1. NYHorsewoman
    Offline

    NYHorsewoman iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Okay, need a super geek. I want to strengthen the wireless signal for my iPad when I'm in the bedroom or on the deck. So I want to set up an adhoc (computer to computer) network in Windows XP (on an old laptop). So far the iPad is not seeing this network. It says "could not find the network 'AdHoc'.

    Any ideas?

    Edit: I did turn off the firewall completely in case that was blocking it but still nothing.
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2011
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
  3. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Only you would know what that is, Tim. Goodness. How do you know everything?
  4. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    One way forward - since my last post wasn't particularly helpful :( - would be to use a WiFi range extender. There are numerous models available; effectively they receive the original WiFi signal and rebroadcast it on a different channel. As a result, it doesn't appear as an ad hoc network and so your iPad will be able to join it without any problem.

    Of course, the downside to this suggestion is that you have to purchase a range extender.....


    Tim
  5. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,227 / 1
    This has been posted before. I haven't tested it myself, so I won't guarentee it will work.

    Turn Your Windows 7 PC Into a Wireless Hotspot

    However, it can only be done from a wired network. You can not go from a wireless to another wireless network this way. As Tim suggested, the proper way to do that is with a Wi-fi range extender.
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  6. NYHorsewoman
    Offline

    NYHorsewoman iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Thanks you guys! I know about extenders and thought this was a way around it. I don't have a Windows 7 machine, Vista Ultimate. Thanks for input.
  7. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    You can set up a WiFi hotspot on a Vista machine too - even XP - but as the poet says, it has to be connected to the Internet via a wired connection (well, OK, technically you could use Bluetooth to a tethered phone, I guess, if we're being pedantic). So an option would be to run an Ethernet cable from your ADSL modem to the Windows machine and then set up a WiFi hotspot there...probably not what you're looking for though, but cable is cheaper than a range extender...

    Tim
  8. NYHorsewoman
    Offline

    NYHorsewoman iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Actually that is exactly what I was trying to do with my laptop and I did connect it directly to the router with a cable. But i'm not sure how to set up the hotspot or if that is the same as the adhoc network. If it's the same it didn't work. If it's different then I would try it. I also found a great antenna that seems to work well with Verizon FIOS router for $35. Pretty cheap for the value if it works well.

    Just found very clear instructions on line. I will try it and report back.
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  9. Mountainbikermark
    Offline

    Mountainbikermark iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,395
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colonial Heights,Va
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    I'm wondering if that is your router. My Ipad1 readily sees my router with very usable signal well over 500' away outside and upstairs on the other end of the house from the router downstairs (about 100' away and around 2 corners.
    Could there be interference such as a cordless phone or lamp transformer limiting your range?


    Support Our Troops!!
    This post was Tapatalk approved. Sent from an Incredible phone
  10. NYHorsewoman
    Offline

    NYHorsewoman iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Well, the router is in the basement. No phone nearby. It is a brand new Verizon FIOS router. It works fine on the first floor but upstairs it is one bar And on deck very limited. doesn't really bother me but my husband says Netflix is horrible on it on the iPad in the bedroom, constantly stops and stalls but fine downstairs so I am assuming that,s because of week signal.
  11. NYHorsewoman
    Offline

    NYHorsewoman iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
  12. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,227 / 1
  13. NYHorsewoman
    Offline

    NYHorsewoman iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Quick update, I purchased an extender antenna and then also moved my router to a spot that was closer to the stairway from the basement but i'm not seeing any appreciable difference in wireless connection. :(. I will keep trying to mor around and see if I can get it any stronger.
  14. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,282
    Thanks Received:
    1,990
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,227 / 1
    Most antenna designs concentrate signals on the horizontal plane. That means that when you are significantly above or below the router the signal will be weaker than it would be at the same distance if it was at the same hight as the router.

    Think of it as a big invisible donut with the antenna at the center. If you tilt that antenna so that one edge of the donut is angled towards the bedroom, the signal might improve. What's more, in practice the donut can be off center and a bit lumpy around the edges. So rotating the device may get you a stronger signal too.

    That of course ignores any other metal or signal absorbing materials that may be in-between the router and room.
  15. NYHorsewoman
    Offline

    NYHorsewoman iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Yeah, pretty confident that I need to move it again and perhaps to the first floor. Luckily I have enough holes in the floor around here! Lol thanks.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

connect ipad to ad hoc network

,

connect ipad to windows ad-hoc network

,

connecting ipad 2 to windows 7 ad hoc

,
connecting ipad to window ad hoc network
,
connecting ipads to an ad-hoc network
,
how to connect ipad air to ad hoc network
,
how to set up ipad for access to ad-hoc wireless network
,

if ipad 2 is on adhoc wireless will a symbol show?

,

ipad ad hoc wifi

,
ipad adhoc windows
,
ipad can't connect adhoc wifi
,

ipad join ad hoc network

,
ipad unable to join ad hoc vista network
,
ipad won't connect to windows 7 ad hoc connection
,
ipad won't work over ad hoc
,

my ipad can't connect to adhoc windows xp

,

public networking an ipad to windows 7

,

setup a adhoc network for ipad mini

,
setup ad hoc wifi network between win xp and ipad
,
windows 7 ad hoc ipad join anzwaz