Will garageband and imovie work for us

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by jhood2323, Mar 5, 2011.

  1. jhood2323

    jhood2323 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Will it have ipad 1 support
     
  2. Nick Burns

    Nick Burns iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    From what I read, and someone correct me if I'm wrong (I am new after all), they will work with the original iPad, you just won't be able to record video, obviously.
     
  3. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,028
    Thanks Received:
    2,332
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,819 / 1
  4. iVan

    iVan iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Near Montréal Québec
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    That's really disappointing...

    I've been looking for something like iMovie since I got the iPad in may of last year. I'm hoping that they're in the process of writing some kind of emulation software.
     
  5. Demandarin

    Demandarin iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,251
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    I saw an article also say imovie will work on ipad1. You just wont be able to record video but can still upload existing movies into it.
     
  6. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,028
    Thanks Received:
    2,332
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,819 / 1
    If you go to the iPad 2 page on Apple's site, you can see what devices are compatibe listed in the top right corner. I believe I saw the same article you did, and took it to mean the same thing, but thinking back I believe they were only speculating.
     
  7. gentlefury

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    I can't see a viable reason for it not to work.
     
  8. iVan

    iVan iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Near Montréal Québec
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
  9. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,028
    Thanks Received:
    2,332
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,819 / 1
    Could be RAM. Both the iPhone 4 and the newest iPod Touch have 512 GB of RAM. Some things, like generating frame transitions, probably require a fair bit of RAM. While we are not sure how much RAM the iPad 2 has yet, it probably has 512 GB.

    Best guess.
     
  10. addiosamigo

    addiosamigo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    955
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    haha 512GB, thats a lot! no wonder its so fast...
     
  11. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,028
    Thanks Received:
    2,332
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,819 / 1
    That's a guess. We don't have official figures yet. Someone should have a break down with days of the release, and we'll get some better ideas of what the iPad's got under the hood.

    I agree with the general sentiment that what really counts is how well it works, but the geek in me likes to know what's inside too. And the coward inside me is willing to let someone else break their toy to find out. :)
     
  12. addiosamigo

    addiosamigo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    955
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    You mean 512MB lol, but yes I'm very interested in seeing what's what before I take the plunge and sell my 1st gen and buy the 2nd gen.

    I will wait for a ifixit teardown and maybe see what apps are released, but I'll probably want it as soon as I see it! :(
     
  13. Fabytm

    Fabytm iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Romania
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The iPod Touch 4th gen has 256MB RAM!
     
  14. iVan

    iVan iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Near Montréal Québec
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    I've looked up the device use in the GarageBand movie images of the iPad 2 demo.

    It's called the Apogee Jam. Luckily it is compatible with our beloved iPad 1.:) I just hope it works with a microphone too...

    I've snapped a picture while the movie played.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2011
  15. Davebarrie

    Davebarrie iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Great video editing software as well as synth composition software already exists for the iPad. I'm sure that apple's will be very pretty but don't think for a minute that your ipad1 is missing out on any functionality.

    The reason these were made to appear as ipad2 features is because the ipad2 doesn't have many real new features. Maybe once ios5 comes out we will see real fragmentation
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

does+garageband+work offline