wifi

Discussion in 'iPad 4 Forum' started by hurricaneluke, Mar 9, 2013.

  1. hurricaneluke

    hurricaneluke
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi folks this is my first post so i hope you all can understand
    i have ipad4 wifi
    when i first got it ,it went straight to my netgear setting and came up straight away after a couple of days it comes up not connected i tap that then my netgear names comes up after a few seconds with a tick next to it
    i am asking is that right or should it when turned on just find my wifi modem etc automatically if so what setting do i need to change etc
    sss for long post
     
  2. The OB

    The OB
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,587
    Thanks Received:
    1,591
    Hi Luke and welcome to the forum from another Aussie.
    Try this first:
    General>Reset>Reset Network Settings. See how you go.
    Regards, Andrew


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  3. hurricaneluke

    hurricaneluke
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you for reply did as stated its still the same
     
  4. The OB

    The OB
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,587
    Thanks Received:
    1,591
    OK try one step further. Settings>General>WiFi and then tap that blue arrow next to your Internet Service Provider name. Then tap "Forget this Network". Then go back to WiFi and re-enter your ISP's requested info just like you did when you you first set up you ISP account.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  5. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    747
    In addition to the great advice from The OB, it may be worth rebooting your router.......also, assuming that you have admin rights on the router make sure that it's firmware is up to date.

    The Archangel
     
  6. hurricaneluke

    hurricaneluke
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you all for replies situation is rectified follwed the ob\s info and it seems to work
     
  7. rickwinger

    rickwinger
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I appreciate reading this thread. Today I was traveling (work related) and at the particular office complex where I spent the day they have Netgear access points throughout the building. My iPhone 4S acquired no problem, but the iPad never did.

    The pace was such that I did not have a lot of time between sessions to fiddle with it, so I'll try the reset routine next time I'm there.
     
Similar Threads
  1. macfoot
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,232
  2. tnbug
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    940
  3. Fifi1992
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    5,058
  4. biller007
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    919
  5. twall1
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,824
Loading...

Share This Page