1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Wifi problems with both iPhone and iPad

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by erosnunes, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. erosnunes
    Offline

    erosnunes iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello,

    I have one iPad and two iPhones. Every 10 minutes or so, they lose connection with my router.
    I need to go to settings and turn off and on wifi to be able to have internet again.

    I have an Hitron BVW 3653 that I must use because it's specifically design to my service provider (ZON Portugal).

    Do you have any idea on now to avoid this situation? It's really anoying!!!

    Eros
  2. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,934
    Thanks Received:
    1,805
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,909 / 1
    Well, there is a rather awkward way. You get another router that you know is compatible, hook it into one of the ethernet ports on your main router and set up a separate WiFi network for your iDevices.

    I do something similar. I have an old AirPort express. I plugged it into my iMac's ethernet port and shared my internet connection to it. Took a little fiddling to make it work, but works great.
  3. iPAD4ME
    Offline

    iPAD4ME iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nc
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Its a shame you cant get a new router, but check you have all the correct settings needed using apples recommendations:

    iOS: Recommended settings for Wi-Fi routers and access points

    Good luck, I know how much of a pain it is, had the same with a Belkin N+ router and I ended up buying a different brand!! Life is good again!
  4. Pocobear
    Offline

    Pocobear iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, usa
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    First, unplug your router/wifi device(s) and leave them off of at least 8-10 min. Then, second - Try this, go into SETTINGS - GENERAL - NETWORK, then chose the line with your network name on it and then press the blue arrow on the right, then tap the FORGET THIS NETWORK button at the top of the page. Then setup your network again. OR, you can try to tap RENEW LEASE and see it that helps. The first option above is the best one to try, as it resets everything in the network settings.

    Things to try on iPad for wifi problems.From Apple forums.

    1) - Set router to fragmentation=2048, RTS=512 an
    02) - Disable router 40Mhz, use only 20Mhz
    03) - Change router from 5 Mhz to 2.4 Mhz
    04) - Disable N router standard
    05) - Use WPA or WPA2 (2 seems better) instead of WEP
    06) - Use TKIP instead of AES or BOTH security in router
    07) - Disable bluetooth in iPad
    08) - Check nearby routers for channel conflict
    09) - Router firmware update
    10) - Reset/cold boot router
    11) - Reset network settings on iPad
    12) - Cycle iPad power off and on (fails on wake from stby)
    13) - Redownload adn reinstall the 4.2.1 update
    14) - Set iPad DNS to 8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4 (Google DNS?)
    15) - SetiPad autobrightness to off or away from lowest setting
    16) - Assign iPad a fixed IP address (don't use DHCP in router)
    17) - Turn off "ask to join networks" on iPad
    18) - Turn off notifications iPad
    19) - Adjust QOS (google for settings)
    20) - Change the passwords for your main and guest networks in Apple Extreme and update to latest firmware
  5. erosnunes
    Offline

    erosnunes iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you guys!! I think I found the problem; I was using an SSID with a space on it, now i entered an underscore between the two names and everything's working fine. My fault on this one!!
  6. SBHOKC
    Offline

    SBHOKC iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for letting us know. I was still trying to figure out which way to point you. Glad you are up and running again.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
conflict between iphone and ipad for wifi
,
disable qos for ipad 2
,
disable qos in ipad
,
do ipads have problems with ssids with spaces
,
eros proplem on ipad
,
guying@hitron.cn
,
hitron bvw 3653 and tv wifi
,

how to disable qos ipad

,

how to disable qos on ipad

,

how to turn off qos on ipad

,
how to turn off qos on iphone
,
ipad 2 wifi, how to turn off qos
,
ipad qos disable
,
iphone ipad wifi conflict
,
iphone qos
,
qos on ipad
,
qos on or off on ipad
,

turn off qos ipad

,
wifi problems
,
zon hub stopped connecting to iphone and ipad?