1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

WiFi priority

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by jcaswell, Jul 16, 2013.

  1. jcaswell
    Offline

    jcaswell iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have two WiFi hubs at home, and would like to be able to prioritise the use of one over the other. That is, if both are aavailable, it will always link to the prioritised one. Is this possible?
  2. sliceoflife
    Offline

    sliceoflife iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    My understanding is that it connects to the wifi networks in alphabetical order. So it possible to do this by renaming the one you prefer to start with an earlier letter in the alphabet.
  3. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    I have two wifi networks and from my three+ years on iPad, it just uses the last one continuously until I toggle off and switch to the other. My two networks have about equal strength. I don't know if behavior varies if there's a big diff in wifi strength.
  4. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,345
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,728 / 0
    The only way I can think of to reliably make the iPad link to the one you wish is to make the iPad "forget" the other one. If it's on the iPad, the iPad will connect to it.

    Marilyn
  5. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    It defaults to the last one used, even if you have two. That's what mine does, even though I have both remembered on my iPad.
  6. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,345
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,728 / 0
    Yeah, normally. But, sometimes, the "better" signal you want isn't the one that's broadcasting the strongest when you go to connect. At least on my Belkin router - I have two different channels and I often try to use the 5GB one. It's the last one I'm using [when I leave the house or go to cellular], but when I remember to look, the other one is in use. It just does what it wishes...

    All that to say - I really don't know how/why the iPad picks among two different WiFi points. :)

    M
  7. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    Interesting. Mine doesn't switch unless I switch it manually.
  8. jcaswell
    Offline

    jcaswell iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    There seems to be no consistency which one it links to - i have proved to myself that it is not alphabetical, and not the last one it linked to (at least not on my machine). I have 'forgotten' the one I do not want to link to usually, and that seems to have done the trick. Thank you all for your suggestions
  9. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    Interesting, there must be a way to set up so that you can prefer one to another, because we have two, and they're of equal strength (at least judging by the crude indicators we can see on iPad), but when I use them, iPads default to it unless the other was the last used. My husband set up the wifi, so I will ask him if he knows how that occurred. He might not know, because maybe it was just a happy result of whatever else he was trying to accomplish. (That happened with iPad printing -- he set up wireless printing for other devices in our house, and it just happened to work with iPads, even though he didn't set out to make that work. I just hit print to test, and it worked, lol.)

    One thing I noticed on our wifis, which all my iDevices are set to remember permanently, one always pops up before the other -- there's a lag, like I'll see our primary one and neighbors' signals, and then our other wifi will pop up as a choice, even though signal strength is equal.

    For a few months recently, we had four wifi signals going in-house, because my husband moved his office to another floor but left the modem on the previous level. Even then, iPads defaulted to the same signal. But I don't know why and it didn't matter to me as long as I got online. We use a dual-band router, if that offers any clues.
  10. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    My husband says he did nothing special in setting up our wifi, so it's unclear why my iPads default to the last signal used. I did a quick google search and someone else asked the same question -- how to prioritize. But then another user said the same thing I did -- his iPad 2 and iPhone 5 default to the last one used as well. So apparently some of us have stumbled onto some way to prioritize, but don't know the cause that creates the effect.
  11. allon_peter
    Offline

    allon_peter iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    baroda
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My two sons and I all share one wifi network and when i am on my laptop I am doing important business and sending documents but my internet always slows down because they are always downloading games or connecting to over sea servers for their games which intterupts my ability to work. Other then kicking them off their computers I was wondering if there was anyway to change priority of the wifi between different laptops. Meaning like if i need more bandwith or speed or w/e is there a way to make it so other computer currently connected wirelessly or directly would lose speed or bandwith so that my computer could run the internet at better speeds let me know if this doesnt make sense
  12. batty505
    Offline

    batty505 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    fairfax
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You can segment the kids or port forward term and specify when they can update
    It's easy just tedious
    Most parents I know complain about the network lagging when kids get on it's just how you configure your router
    HTH

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
apple ipad prioritize wifi
,
how to bias wifi connection
,
how to prioritize wifi ipad 2
,
how to prioritize wifi on iphone
,
how to set priority wifi iphone
,
how to set wifi priority in ios
,

ios wifi priority

,
ipad 2 how to set a printer priority
,
ipad air wifi cellular priority
,
ipad mini set wifi connection priority
,
ipad wifi network priority
,

ipad wifi priority

,
ipad wifi priorty
,
iphone 5 wifi priority
,
iphone set network priority
,
prioritize home wifi over hotspot ipad
,
priority of network on ipad
,
setting wifi priority for ipad
,
setup network priority in ipad
,
wifi connection priority ios