Wi-fi problems

Discussion in 'iPad 1 Forum' started by prudy, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. prudy
    Offline

    prudy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When I'm at my place I have problems connecting to the wi-fi, although around malls it's easier to detect spots. So my problem is that for the past 4 months I could not upgrade my software due to the wi-fi issues.
  2. johnodd4
    Offline

    johnodd4 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Question???

    Which type of router are you using???

    Who is our isp???

    what channel is your wifi set to?????

    here is why if you have a lot of wireless networks around by where you live at you might be conflicting with another router on the same channel as your wifi settings
  3. quake5254
    Offline

    quake5254 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    642
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philippine
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    My problem before was the architectural design of our house. The walls lowers or hinders the strength of wifi signals. Try relocating your router till you get the best spot and signal.
  4. prudy
    Offline

    prudy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanx for yo response guys, but honestly I feel like u speaking another language, John I have no idea what those things are. I'm just a woman who is hopeless about technical stuff.
  5. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,655
    Thanks Received:
    1,150
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,249 / 1
    Prudy...have you or can you try to do this? Power down (unplug) your modem first. Than do the same with your router. Wait a minute...than power on (plug in) modem and than your router. Sometimes doing that helps to reset the modem and router connection.

    Also, if you remember your network password for your home wifi...do this. Go to settings/wifi/ and "forget" your wifi network if it locates your home wifi. Than go back to your settings and have it search for it again, type your password in and see if that helps.
  6. prudy
    Offline

    prudy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok skimonkey I hear what you are saying, but how do I get the password when I'm staying in a complex, there are times when some wi-fi's are detected but the problem is the password, I have no idea how to do that.
  7. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,261
    Thanks Received:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +865 / 0
    Wifi networks with passwords are private, and owned by someone who is paying for the service.

    If you do not have the password, and are not in a position to ask the owner of the network for it, there is a good chance you should not be on it.
  8. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,655
    Thanks Received:
    1,150
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,249 / 1
    Hi Prudy, having access to wifi within your complex-you should also have access to the security network password. You will need that inorder to keep your iPad logged on. As KevinJS stated, if you are piggybacking on a network that is unknown--that may be the reason for your issues.
  9. iBean
    Offline

    iBean iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have an iPad 1, 3G, 32gig, with AT&T unlimited data & wifi available. A few months ago we left our satellite Internet provider in favor of a 4 G AT&T hotspot at home. I don't use wifi often, but was trying to upgrade a large app that required either wifi connection with my iMac, or a hard wire connect. Tried to wifi connect, but was unable to, so wrestled with hard-wire. Finally got hard-wired for update, but would still like to resurrect wifi. Just updated to Lion on iMac & updated iPad OS & the still aren't talking. Help Please.

Share This Page