Why no automatic clock on ipad?

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by noddy, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. noddy

    noddy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As per title. I've just had to set my clock as it was 5 mins fast. Only just noticed in settings, there's no automatic option. Any reason why?
     
  2. SaberOne

    SaberOne iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hmmm, not sure as mine is spot-on with my MacPro. :confused:
     
  3. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    I remember seeing a thread or two about folk's time being off on their iPad. I think mine may be off a second or two.
     
  4. Ulrich

    Ulrich iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    The time gets synchronized with your PC's time when you sync your iPad with iTunes. If your PC's time is off, your iPad will be off.

    If you want to have the precise time on your iPad then you'll have to do an internet time syncronization right before you hook up your iPad. :)
     
  5. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,006
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0
    Yes. I had this problem.
    The iPad clock syncs to your pc's clock when you connect up. Just make sure your pc's clock is running on time and you'll be fine. I adjusted my pc's clock and all is dandy these days :)
     
  6. DavidM

    DavidM iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mich.
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    We should have a app that does it for us, like windows.
     
  7. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    What am I failing to understand about this thread? I have an automatic setting...

    EDIT - Sorry, I realise now, this is probably a 3G only option...
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  8. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,006
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0
    We all do, but as soon as you connect to iTunes the time is synced to that instead and you must reset those auto settings.

    As long as you sync those iPad settings are more or less redundant.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  9. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Really? OK. OP said he didn't, hence my question.
    My time has always been bang on, no matter what. Never had to touch the settings at all. Go figure.
     
  10. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    I never touched mine either. I never really noticed it, Leigh, except for a thread someone took out stating their clock was off. So I checked mine real quick and it was off by a few minutes, actually.

    Never tripped about it since.:)
     
  11. noddy

    noddy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That's weird that there's an auto setting in the above pic. I haven't got that. Can't see why it would be 3G only when both connect to the Internet at some point.
     
  12. rotopenguin

    rotopenguin iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Surface
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If you have a cellular model, no problemo. Those of us with Wifi, though, the time can drift, sometimes quite badly. IOS4 will never pick up time using the internets, only by phone towers. Syncing with iTunes will only set the time if it is more than a few minutes off. To force iTunes to set the time, you may have to flip the device's time way off before syncing.

    Mine loses almost 10 seconds a day, so it doesn't take long for it to be wrong enough to break Google's time-based authenticator (like an RSA badge). If you want to see how far off you are, get the free "Emerald Time" app.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  13. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0

    I have it and I have wifi too.
     
  14. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,016
    Thanks Received:
    2,329
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,810 / 1
    Are you sure it's not something you picked up with a jailbreak app? Because as far as I know there is no auto setting on the Wi-Fi model. It's one of the things I really miss from my old 3G iPad 1.

    Though I sync often enough that it is rarely off by more than a few seconds.
     
  15. Hayles66

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,897
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +343 / 0
    I also saw those previous threads and realised my iPad wifi would lose time if not synched to pc. I've just checked it again and it was fast by two minutes. I synched it to London UK time again. Will this be corrected in the future or will I have to keep correcting the time?

    sent with love from my iPad on IPF
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
automatic clock update in ipad
,
ipad clock update auto
,

no clock on ipad

,
why is there no timer on the ipad