1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Why no automatic clock on ipad?

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by noddy, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. noddy
    Offline

    noddy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As per title. I've just had to set my clock as it was 5 mins fast. Only just noticed in settings, there's no automatic option. Any reason why?
  2. SaberOne
    Offline

    SaberOne iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hmmm, not sure as mine is spot-on with my MacPro. :confused:
  3. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    I remember seeing a thread or two about folk's time being off on their iPad. I think mine may be off a second or two.
  4. Ulrich
    Offline

    Ulrich iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    The time gets synchronized with your PC's time when you sync your iPad with iTunes. If your PC's time is off, your iPad will be off.

    If you want to have the precise time on your iPad then you'll have to do an internet time syncronization right before you hook up your iPad. :)
  5. sjleworthy
    Offline

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    Yes. I had this problem.
    The iPad clock syncs to your pc's clock when you connect up. Just make sure your pc's clock is running on time and you'll be fine. I adjusted my pc's clock and all is dandy these days :)
  6. DavidM
    Offline

    DavidM iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mich.
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    We should have a app that does it for us, like windows.
  7. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    What am I failing to understand about this thread? I have an automatic setting...

    EDIT - Sorry, I realise now, this is probably a 3G only option...

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  8. sjleworthy
    Offline

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    We all do, but as soon as you connect to iTunes the time is synced to that instead and you must reset those auto settings.

    As long as you sync those iPad settings are more or less redundant.
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  9. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    Really? OK. OP said he didn't, hence my question.
    My time has always been bang on, no matter what. Never had to touch the settings at all. Go figure.
  10. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    I never touched mine either. I never really noticed it, Leigh, except for a thread someone took out stating their clock was off. So I checked mine real quick and it was off by a few minutes, actually.

    Never tripped about it since.:)
  11. noddy
    Offline

    noddy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That's weird that there's an auto setting in the above pic. I haven't got that. Can't see why it would be 3G only when both connect to the Internet at some point.
  12. rotopenguin
    Offline

    rotopenguin iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Surface
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If you have a cellular model, no problemo. Those of us with Wifi, though, the time can drift, sometimes quite badly. IOS4 will never pick up time using the internets, only by phone towers. Syncing with iTunes will only set the time if it is more than a few minutes off. To force iTunes to set the time, you may have to flip the device's time way off before syncing.

    Mine loses almost 10 seconds a day, so it doesn't take long for it to be wrong enough to break Google's time-based authenticator (like an RSA badge). If you want to see how far off you are, get the free "Emerald Time" app.
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  13. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0

    I have it and I have wifi too.
  14. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,980
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,986 / 1
    Are you sure it's not something you picked up with a jailbreak app? Because as far as I know there is no auto setting on the Wi-Fi model. It's one of the things I really miss from my old 3G iPad 1.

    Though I sync often enough that it is rarely off by more than a few seconds.
  15. Hayles66
    Offline

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,876
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    I also saw those previous threads and realised my iPad wifi would lose time if not synched to pc. I've just checked it again and it was fast by two minutes. I synched it to London UK time again. Will this be corrected in the future or will I have to keep correcting the time?

    sent with love from my iPad on IPF
  16. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,980
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,986 / 1
    I suppose you could send an email to Steve Jobs and ask. He's been known to make random (very succinct (short and blunt)) replies. :)

    Otherwise, I guess we'll have to wait and see.
  17. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0


    hmm...that is a good question. I have absolutely no idea.

    Where's Leigh?:D
  18. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    [sigh] why are people always so quick to point fingers at the jailbreak? ;)

    A quick look at our Marie's signature tells us all she does indeed have a 3G iPad and so the automatic setting is supposed to be there...

    Marie dear, you know this! :D
  19. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    See. I so knew that. So I was okay. Then HALEY and POET, popped along and made me think it was only because of our sweet dear innocent JB, Leigh.

    How could they?:D
  20. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,980
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,986 / 1
    I misunderstood her post to say she had auto-sync and a wi-fi iPad. I can see how I read it wrong now, and seriously, after the first dozen posts by someone I don't pay much attention to the signature. I'm lazy that way. ;)

    As for jailbreak, well, it seems to me this is exactly the kind of tweak that is popular. It's one I'd get for my Wi-Fi iPad if I had it jailbroken and it was available. It is also the kind of thing that might be included in a package of minor tweaks

    I did try to get a better idea of what was in the Cydia store the other day, but all I could find was a site obviously designed for the iPhone, and no search ability. I'm afraid my laziness kicked in again, so I did't work my way through the apps one by one. :D

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
automatic clock update in ipad
,
ipad clock update auto
,

no clock on ipad

,
why is there no timer on the ipad