1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Why is my iPad telling me this?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by SweetPoison, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    I am waiting for car repairs and thought I would update some apps and this pops up.

    I am connected to 3G ~ I am confused ~ which is not hard these days.


    [​IMG]
  2. MattIM
    Offline

    MattIM Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,230
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    Hi Marie! The app you are trying to update is more than 20mgs. So you cannot use 3G to update this app. That is why it tells you to wait until you get to a wifi hotspot. ATT limits the amount of data it will transport--anything less than 20 Mg is okay. I think there is also the possibility that your download will experience a disconnection during this big download and the file might get corrupted and you would have to start all over again AND pay for it again (costs money to use 3G).
  3. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    Hi Matt! Where have you been, babe?

    Okay. Well Shitums. So now my Angry Birds app is frozen ~ I didn't know this! Thanks Matt! You are my hero.:)
  4. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    Matt. How did you know I was using 3G?
  5. iPadCharlie
    Offline

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,239
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Because it says AT&T 3G in the upper left corner of your screen!

    "I'm just sayin'..."
  6. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    Oh. So it does. Smart ass.:D


    I didn't think it was in the picture!
  7. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    AND. I'm tellin Colin you are being uppity with me.:D
  8. The Alternative
    Offline

    The Alternative iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Also, you ONLY get this message when trying to download 20+mb applications using the 3G function. Even on the wi-fi + 3G iPad you'll get this message if the wi-fi is turned off or you are not connected to a network.
  9. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0


    I never knew this! Thanks!
  10. accordlayingkit
    Offline

    accordlayingkit iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    And in your op u said "I am 3g connected" winning.....duh!! Lol
  11. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    Oh Wow. I most certainly did.

    Well okay, then.:eek:
  12. BrennB
    Offline

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    andd.....

    ok just had to get my ands in there too.

    ::::::ducks and runs:::::::
  13. accordlayingkit
    Offline

    accordlayingkit iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    U posted that at 2:16 too and I can't believe none of the other smarta$$es mentioned it!! As i just read for the first time and realized. Haha I win I win
  14. MattIM
    Offline

    MattIM Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,230
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    To get rid of the frozen app do the shut down routine...this is why I enjoy this forum: EVERYONE is a comic hero :D
  15. iPadCharlie
    Offline

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,239
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    [​IMG]
  16. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    Scott ~

    Shuddup.
  17. Demandarin
    Offline

    Demandarin iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,251
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    This is dumb of apple to have that block. If ur device is jailbroken, there is a tweak in cydia to allow larger thn 20 mb downloads over 3G network! Or however large u want or the file is. I don't remember the name of the tweak but remember seeing and reading about it. Hope that helps you ;-)
  18. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    I am not JB.

    But there is always hope.;)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

\my ipad will not update, tells me i am not conncected but i am

,

download app to ipad 50mg

,

iphone why can't download over 50 mg

,

iphone-you cannot download apps more than 50 mg

,

on my ipad it is telling me there is not enough available storage to download these items. you can manage your local dev

,

why does my apps keep telling me data is off

,

why does my ipad keep telling me to update

,

why does my iphone keeps telling me i have too much 50mg