why i cant update my os from 3.2.2 to 4.3.1 ? 10 time of error 3194

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by gordon_gekko, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. gordon_gekko

    gordon_gekko iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    here on earth.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i visit this site myappworld
    and the download iPad1,1_4.3_8F190_Restore.ipsw to my windows pc.

    press shift+update or restore but it always show error 3194

    this ipad is used before come to me so i really dont know what it have been done before. jaibreak before or anything.

    any help will make me happy after trying by myself for 2 day.
     
  2. wytey

    wytey iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    768
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Google suggests that the iPad is jail broken.... But I have no experience in that though, but this site might help

    http://ipadfeed.net/2010/12/07/fix-error-3194-from-itunes-during-ipad-restore/
     
  3. gordon_gekko

    gordon_gekko iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    here on earth.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thank u
    will try what u say.
     
  4. gordon_gekko

    gordon_gekko iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    here on earth.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thank u
    will try what u say.
     
  5. gordon_gekko

    gordon_gekko iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    here on earth.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    same.

    WyTey. i did what you advice before and do it again after u suggest but........equal.

    here is my host file, does it correct?

    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    74.208.105.171 gs.apple.com

    ---------------------------
    i know i cant expect much from here but i really need help.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. wytey

    wytey iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    768
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Make a backup of the hosts file, and remove that line 74.208.105.171 and then try again

    According to google, that line is used to trick iTunes in thinking it is talking to the apple server when instead it is talking to the Cydia, which jail broken iPads etc talk to

    On my netbook pc, my hosts file only has 127.0.0.1 localhost

    But then again, I only use connect my iPad to my MacBook pro, but it looks like that line in your hosts file is what is causing the problem
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011
  7. gordon_gekko

    gordon_gekko iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    here on earth.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    same. i try what u told sir. it go fine when extracting but when it went to contact apple, the old ghost 3194 pop up again. good bye lenin.

    it my host file is correct, it got 2 host file name in my dir, please see it.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. wytey

    wytey iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    768
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Try moving the ics and umbrella ones onto the desktop temporarily and try again with just the hosts one, not sure what the ics and umbrella ones are for

    If all else fails, only thing I can think of is try your local apple store, or use a different pc as it seems to be trying to connect to the Cydia store instead of the apple server on your pc

    as a last resort I could email you my hosts file to try, mine only has '127.0.0.1 localhost' which is standard and on all pcs
     
  9. gordon_gekko

    gordon_gekko iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    here on earth.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2011
  10. wytey

    wytey iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    768
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Sent

    Make sure only the 'hosts' file is in the c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc folder and reboot the pc to make sure it is reading the new hosts file
     
  11. gordon_gekko

    gordon_gekko iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    here on earth.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thank you sir. really happy with your kindly help even if it don't work. will try now.
     
  12. gordon_gekko

    gordon_gekko iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    here on earth.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    after place your host file and reboot. it went the same result. if u already tire with me, it understandable :) but thank you anyway.
     
  13. wytey

    wytey iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    768
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    sorry, I fell asleep :eek:

    Think your best bet would be to let your local apple store have a go at fixing it.
     
  14. gordon_gekko

    gordon_gekko iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    here on earth.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Wytey
    the local store want to charge me 535฿ it much money but the real reason for me is i want to learn it myself.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2011
  15. wytey

    wytey iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    768
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    :eek:

    Might as well buy a new one

    Hopefully someone who has jail broken their iPad will be able to help you out, as there must be a way to update it

    Good luck
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
cant update iphone from 3.1.2
,
error 3194 on my ipad mac os x
,

i cant update my ipad

,

i cant update my ipad2

,
why cant my ipad update