1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Why does radio app pause?

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by bakerich, Jun 8, 2012.

  1. bakerich
    Offline

    bakerich iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Have two radio apps on my iPad 2 and both pause when e.g. I go into iTranslate or sometimes even when opening Safari. I have no idea as to the cause or to the remedy, it also sometimes occurs with other apps too. Any ideas anyone?
  2. City
    Offline

    City iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    144
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Try contacting the App Devolepor, he/she will probably know if it's a common problem or not.
    I know when I'm playing music, it'll sometimes turn off when I'm on something, but that would be an app with sound.
  3. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,315
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,686 / 0
    Yeah, that happens sometimes. I think it's in the coding of the iPad, in that it turns off sound in one app in preparation of needing it for another.

    Most of the time, there is an easy "fix." If your sound disappears, double click the Home button (or do the four-finger swipe up gesture) to reveal the multi-task bar. Swipe to the right to bring the left side into view. You should see the app that was playing the music there on the right. In the center of that view is the Play button. Press that and your radio should start. Then, you can tap on the screen again to go back to wherever you went that caused the sound to stop.

    Again, I believe this is a function of the iOS. But, this method should work. Please, let us know how it goes.

    Marilyn
  4. bakerich
    Offline

    bakerich iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for your reply.
    I tried your suggestion and got the sound back but when I tapped on the screen the app,iTranslate, took full screen and the radio app paused again. Thanks anyway.
    Bakerich
  5. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,315
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,686 / 0
    Maybe try it from this side...

    In the app, iTranslate, in it's settings, turn off the "Auto Speak" part. I was messing around with it (awesome app, BTW, isn't it) and the iTune radio app.

    After I turned off the auto speak, I'd lose the music when I pressed the button to talk. And, then I'd have to reactivate it to play music again. But, once I restarted the music, if I didn't press the button in the translate app again, the music would stay. I could also hold the button so I could type in words and the music continued.

    A bit of a kludge, yeah, but for the most part, it worked. Guess the iTranslate app doesn't want music to mess up your speech...

    Marilyn
  6. bakerich
    Offline

    bakerich iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi.....er I can't find the iTranslate settings! Have looked in the iPads settings for the app and no joy there too. What am I missing?! Yep it's a good app and worth paying a bit extra to dump the ads.
    Bakerich
  7. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,315
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,686 / 0
    Ooops, my bad! I think we are talking about two different apps - with the same name:

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1339189758.084780.jpg

    I have the one I outlined (and it does have a Settings).

    Sorry for the confusion.

    Marilyn

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

iphone5 why does tuneinradio shut off when i switch to safari?

,

radio apps

,

why does itune in radio app buffer out