Why does my ipad insist on connecting to the furthest possible wap that it can?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by TheX, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. TheX
    Offline

    TheX iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    How can I change the priority so it will connect to the closest one automatically?

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  2. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    I don't understand the question isn't a wap a mobile webpage?
  3. TheX
    Offline

    TheX iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
  4. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,623
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    ah ok, I thought you mean wireless application protocal....like a wap page. I've never heard anyone refer to wifi as wap.

    As for what it signs into....it will re-sign into whatever router you accessed last at the place you are....if you have multiple entries I don't know.
  5. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Me either. I thought I was really outta the loop for a minute!
  6. TheX
    Offline

    TheX iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I have a theory, I walk by a wap on my out of the building I wonder if it is connecting to that, in the mornings I walk by the same wap, but not the one that is actually closest to my office. Makes sense to me lol

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  7. DaveSt
    Offline

    DaveSt iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    626
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If you figure it out let me know. I have two WAPs and one wireless router in my house and I seem to connect to them at random. I wish there was a way to set the priority but I have yet to find it. Maybe I'll browse Cydia later and see if there is a tweak out there.
  8. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,462
    Thanks Received:
    2,054
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,363 / 1
    It doesn't choose the best signal, which is a good thing, or it would be constantly switching networks when you are on the edge of two.

    Instead, when it loses a network, it keeps looking around until it sees a recognized one, and joins that. If it sees more than one, it chooses the one you joined first.

    To stop if from automatically joining a network you don't want, got to Settings >> WiFi, and choose the network by tapping on the blue arrow. If that network is set to auto-join you'll have a Forget this Network option. When you do this the network will still show up (provided it is not a hidden network), but the iPad will not automatically join it. At least until you manually join it again. Then it goes back on the list. But it's priority should now be lower than other auto-join networks.

    When the iPad auto-joins a network, it looks around for any networks it has been connected to before. As near as I can tell, it chooses from available networks based on when they were first set up, with earlier networks getting priority. Last added networks get last priority. That is why Forgetting the network and adding it again lowers it's priority. Still, if the iPad is trying to join a network, it's going to join what it sees at the time. It won't change just because a new, higher priority network is suddenly available. The old one has to drop off.

    Disclaimer: This is all based on observation and guesses based on observation, so if your observations disagree with mine, feel free to correct me. But be nice.
  9. TheX
    Offline

    TheX iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Sounds like a sound theory and exactly what I thought might be going on. I just said it with less detail and probably more confusion. I will let you know what I find tomorrow morning.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  10. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,462
    Thanks Received:
    2,054
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,363 / 1
    I admit to some slight tendencies to the pedantic. I've also been know to tell really boring stories, that my audience politely pretends to listen to. On the plus side people seldom ask me to explain what I just said.

    Now, if I can just figure out if that's because I'm doing good job the first time, or if they are desperate to escape. ;)
  11. TheX
    Offline

    TheX iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Hahah. You sound like my father and law, but don't tell him that!

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  12. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    I am probably missing the point of your post. But I am assuming that in OP's scenario the two access points are in the same wireless network. So whether it auto-joins or manually connects to a network makes no difference, because either way you cannot tell the iPad to connect to a specific access point.
  13. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,462
    Thanks Received:
    2,054
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,363 / 1
    If you are right, then there may be no point to my post. I read it as being two different networks, but again that was an assumption. A closer reading of a follow up post suggests that you are right, but the OP never really says.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
change network priority ipad2
,
how do i change the wifi priorities on ipad
,
how do you set network priority on an ipad
,
how to adjust wifi priorities on ipad
,
how to change network priority order on ipad
,
how to prioritize a wifi network on ipad
,
how to set network priority on ipad
,
how to set wifi priority on ipad
,
ipad automatically connect to strongest wifi
,
ipad keeps switching wifi networks
,
ipad network priority
,
ipad set priority networks
,

ipad wifi priority

,
network priority cydia
,
set prioroty ipad wifi
,
set wireless network priority ipad
,
stop ipad from auto changing wifi
,
stop ipad from connecting on other networks
,
stop ipad from joining other networks
,
wifi auto connect to nearest