What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

who has read ebooks on the iPad for extended periods of time?

username

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm thinking about getting an iPad for the purpose of reading textbooks for what I'm studying (VitalSource format). I still have a lot of doubt because of the LCD screen which may be straining. I'd like to ask if anyone here has read ebooks on the iPad for hours at a time, and how did you feel about that? I'd probably need to zoom in to read my books, which may mean a lot of panning.

Other e-readers are no good for me due to a lack of support from my textbook provider.

Flinthills

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I've spent a few afternoons reading without issue. Of course I was on the front porch enjoying a mystery. that's not the same as consuming a detailed textbook.

tzimisce

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm thinking about getting an iPad for the purpose of reading textbooks for what I'm studying (VitalSource format).

I've read both e-books and e-scores on my iPad for up to 30-40 mins at a time, including on moving vehicles, without any problems.

However, with textbooks I'd probably prefer dead-tree printed copies simply because they're that much easier to write notes and diagrams in the white-space and margins, attach handouts/Post Its and highlight sections, than an electronic copy. (But that's just the way I study, of course.)

NumbLock

iPF Novice
Reaction score
I've read several books, including the entire Jurassic Park series, Battlefield Earth and The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Universe, a couple from WEB Griffin and found the experience enjoyable, and practical.

BrennB

iPF Noob
Reaction score