What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Which iPad to buy?

TW200

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm sure somebody has asked this already but I did a search and can't find the answer I'm looking for.

I'm new to the Apple world and I am going to buy an iPad and was thinking of buying a refurbed unit. If I go the refurbed route should I buy a 4th gen or an Air and why/why not?

Sadly, I don't really know what I'm going to do with the iPad but it looks like it will be some fun finding out what it's capable of doing. I've wanted an iPad since I got my first Apple device, an iPhone4, about a year and half ago.

Having said I don't really know what I going to do with the iPad should the 16gb model be good enough or should I get the higher gig model?

AQ_OC

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Get the Air. I would not buy a 16 gb unit, but that doesn't mean you should do as I do.

KevinJS

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
The number of uses for an iPad is probably as high as the number of users.

Have to admit, when my wife asked me if I wanted an iPad nearly 3 years ago, I said no, for the reason that I figured it was a big iPhone that couldn't make phone calls. Since then, I've found multiple uses for it, and it has become my go-to device for finding my way around the oilfields in my job as a trucker. Some of the other uses have fallen by the wayside since I bought a MacBookPro to go along with it.

I would tend to go with the latest model, with the largest storage affordable, unless there are pressing reasons to go for an older model, like a REALLY good deal, or a need to use existing peripherals such as 30-pin connectors.