What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Which harddrive for Ipad3 ?? Help

MorAase

iPF Noob
Reaction score
My Ipad3/ ios 5.11/ Absinth with the fabulous Ifile Cydia app, badly needs an external Harddrive (such as a Seagate 1 TB )
on my upcoming travel to Istandbul, Cairo, Teheran, Ulan Bator (where no internett and hence no Dropbox available)...

The problem, I am a photographer, I take a lot of pictures, we simply dont keep them floating around on mem. cards, I have to get them on a fixed, external removal drive.

The other problem, due to heavy gear (canon slr), I simply dont want the extra weigth of a laptop such as my Apple Macbook pro, I should like to use my ipad to "administer" the copying from my camera to the HDD.

I have found some solutions

a) ClodFTP, very interesting, but not possible for me, it will be waayy too expensive (I have to import one from USA)

b) Seagate Satelitte ?? I cannot "get the picture", do I upload my jpeg files via wifi to this? NB: each evening on these 10 days travels, I am in need to copy approx 200 jpg pictures to the HDD. Each jpg is approx 7 MB, so the ideal solution would be a usb cable Ifile <--> Seagate. but maybe a wifi solution could eb fast enough?

c) others?

OP
MorAase

MorAase

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Yes

Several times.

Gave up when the op opened a terminal windows and started ssh sessions, sorry, nothing for me

He also discuss some non jb options, the patriot gadget looked promising - but not available in Norway, thus way too expensive to buy.

yof

iPF Noob
Reaction score
What is the price in USD range you are looking for? I know mobile terminal is confusing, but have you tried the USB Toggle tweak as well?