What is this ridiculous message?

Discussion in 'iPad Mini Forum' started by Pippi Longstocking, Sep 5, 2015.

  1. Pippi Longstocking

    Pippi Longstocking
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I am using iPad mini for 2 years, Since last Tuesday, the screen blackens every 5 minutes and shows a ridiculous message "It could take a few minutes for your phone to find a network." The streaming is interrupted by this every time. I only can tap <Cancel> or <Accept> under the message but nothing changes and 5 minutes later the same message comes back. My iPad is not a phone!! I even never use cellular connection. What is this message? How could I get rid of this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20,349
    Thanks Received:
    5,943
    What app are you using?
     
  3. Pippi Longstocking

    Pippi Longstocking
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    3
    The message appears always while using Safari, Gmail, Word, Pandora, YouTube, game, ...even if using nothing, offline, or just opening the iPad.
     
  4. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20,349
    Thanks Received:
    5,943
    Strange. What you are seeing is not a system notification. At least it's no system notification I've ever seen or heard about. It appears to be an app screen, complete with a back button at the upper left. Something you wouldn't see on a notification screen.

    If you have not already done so, try a reset. Hold down the home and power buttons until the Apple logo appears. This can take anywhere from 10 to 30 seconds. The iPad should reboot on it's own.
     
  5. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20,349
    Thanks Received:
    5,943
    Another thought. Even though you don't' use a cellular network, is the iPad cellular capable?
     
  6. Pippi Longstocking

    Pippi Longstocking
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Does that "Reset" has the same function as "Reset All Settings" on the Settings > General > Reset?

    This iPad is cellular capable and I have installed Data SIM Card just in case.
     
  7. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20,349
    Thanks Received:
    5,943
    No. Reset All Settings defaults most of the settings in the Settings app, leaving out the account and security settings. The reset I described is like a restart, only more so. Nothing is deleted or changed.

    Since you have a SIM card installed, but don't want to use Cellular Data, make sure you've turned it off in Settings > Cellular. Though, looking at your screenshot, I'm pretty sure you already have Cellular Data turned off, since no carrier name is showing, and you've got the wi-fi signal strength fan showing instead of 3G, 4G, or LTE.

    That is all I can think of at the moment.
     
  8. Pippi Longstocking

    Pippi Longstocking
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I tried the Reset but it did not work.
     
  9. Brian 244

    Brian 244
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Thanks Received:
    358
    Is the iPad jailbroken?
     
  10. Pippi Longstocking

    Pippi Longstocking
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I did reset but nothing has changed. Sigh.
     

Share This Page