What does this mean?

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by speedlever, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. speedlever
    Offline

    speedlever iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Normally, I would expect it to indicate an update is available. But AppStore says all my apps are up-to-date. It only shows on this one app as per the screen shot. It showed 3 for a while. Now it's showing 5.

    [​IMG]
  2. robertlc
    Offline

    robertlc iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    770
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, MS
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    In other apps I have, it usually means there's a message from this app or it's your turn (number references how many games it's your turn in), or something like that.

    What happens when you run the app?
  3. speedlever
    Offline

    speedlever iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Other than it runs normally, nothing unusual happens. I'm stumped by that message... or where to look for it.
  4. robertlc
    Offline

    robertlc iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    770
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, MS
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Since it appears to be a calculator, have you put any numbers in its memory function? Maybe the number is to remind you there's something in memory.
  5. speedlever
    Offline

    speedlever iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Nope. All history and memory locations have been cleared.
  6. jimt29
    Offline

    jimt29 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Warwick, RI
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    I have that program. It has always shown a "1". Wrote to developer but never heard anything.
  7. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,185
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,143 / 1
    Go through the info buttons or menus. There may be an update/news section that has stuff. Or if you are tired of looking at it go to your settings, general, notifications and turn off notifications for that app.

    Might be something on the in-app purchase section too, if it has one.
  8. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,185
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,143 / 1
    It was free, so I downloaded it. The question mark icon on the lower left, below the Template list, had a red badge with a one on it. It pulls the PowerOne Blog. Check that and and I bet the badge on the app icon goes away.
  9. speedlever
    Offline

    speedlever iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That was it twerppoet. Newsbadges! Thanks a bunch. The blog was an interesting read too. Which leads to another, unrelated question: if I install an app and choose not to allow push notifications (if given the choice), can I change that later? If so, how is that typically accomplished?
  10. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,185
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,143 / 1
    Go to Settings, Notifications, and pick the app you want. You have the options to turn on/off Sounds, Alerts, and Badges.

    You can also turn off all notifications globally.

    My earlier instructions were wrong. Rattled them off from memory, and I was wrong. Yes, I was wrong. But now I am right, so there.
  11. speedlever
    Offline

    speedlever iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Perfect! Thanks very much.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
facebook what does copy link to post mean
,
facebook what does copy link to post mean on ipad
,
hat what does copy mean on ipad
,
meaning of copy link to post
,
what does all apps are up to date mean
,
what does copy link to post mean
,
what does copy link to post mean on facebook
,
what does copy mean on an ipad
,
what does copy mean on an ipad picture
,

what does copy mean on ipad

,
what does copy mean on iphone
,
what does copy mean on my ipad
,
what does copy to post mean
,
what does copy to post mean on facebook
,
what does it mean on facebook when it says copy link to post
,
what does it mean to copy on ipad
,
what does organize by thread mean on ipad
,
what does thread mean on ipad
,
what does thread mean on my ipad
,
where i find thread in my ipad and what does mean