Weird Blobs

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by Clickclickw00t, Dec 13, 2010.

  1. Clickclickw00t
    Offline

    Clickclickw00t iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So I broke my old ipad's terminal connector by accident and I sent it to Apple. It was jailbroken with jailbreakme.

    They sent me an iPad back, which had 3.2 on it (as crazy as that seems, even after they stopped signing 3.2 blobs)
    I jailbroke it with jailbreakme and everything is fine and dandy.

    Now here comes the weird part: when I got into Cydia it says this

    SHSH: iOS 3.2.2, 4.2b3

    on the bottom it says : iPad, iOS 3.2, Cydia 1.0.3221-72

    Here's my question: HOW THE HELL does Cydia have SHSH saved from 3.2.2 when I NEVER installed it, in this iPad or the previous one. Furthermore, why does it have a 4.2b3 shsh when I never had that either? Is it possible that the iPad they sent me is a refurb and that the person who had it before me jailbroke it as well? I can't seem to make any sense of this.

    I don't even know if it has my SHSH blobs saved for 3.2 or 3.2.1 so I can upgrade to 4.2.1 to try it out and then revert back.
    Any help would be appreciated!
  2. Mossi
    Offline

    Mossi iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kentucky, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Wish I could!
  3. Clickclickw00t
    Offline

    Clickclickw00t iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    lol. i know, crazy right?
  4. Mike_73
    Offline

    Mike_73 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I didn't check Cydia, but tinyumbrella (or was it redsn0w?) seems to have saved the according blobs, too, even if I hadn't installed some of the older OS.
    Maybe it's because the untethered JB right now (if it gets released) depends on beta3 of iOs 4.2. Or maybe they want to give the ability to chose which os you want. No matter what, I appreciate having the data so I can chose which os I want rather than having apple telling me I cannot revert.

    I can install win 98/95/NT or whatever windows I would like, although I admit I'm running on win7 64bit currently and really like it.
    What matters to me is "that I could if I wanted".
    :)
  5. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    You have received a refurbished iPad which somebody else had previously jailbroken and instructed Cydia to save their blobs. Once you start Cydia saving blobs for you it will carry on for each new IOS version, hence the reason it has kindly done 4.2b3 for you as well. Nothing to worry about. Just be glad someone jailbroke that device for you, just as I am sure the person who gets your refurbished iPad (when Apple fix the connector) will be glad that you did the same for them....
  6. Clickclickw00t
    Offline

    Clickclickw00t iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    That's what I figured. I just can't seem to figure out why my 3.2 blobs aren't saved. how can I save those?
  7. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    You cant save blobs retrospectively, otherwise there would be no point in Apple using them. So the short answer is you can't. You just have to live with what you have got saved and go on from there...
  8. Digikid
    Offline

    Digikid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    571
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Markdale, Ontario
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That or there is a Apple Employee that is a fellow Jailbreaker! :D
  9. Yakuzagang5
    Offline

    Yakuzagang5 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    That's what happened to me, When I jail broke for my first time on any idevice, I opened cydia and it said I had shsh for 3.2.2 and 4.2b3. I got my iPad with 3.2.2 then upgraded the day of 4.2.1. I bought the iPad from best buy, unopened brand new... It's very weird lol so now I'm back on 3.2.2 untethered jailbreak waiting for 4.2.1 untethered :)
  10. Clickclickw00t
    Offline

    Clickclickw00t iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i guess i'm in the same boat for a while too.
Similar Threads
  1. swami7774
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,829
  2. RudyL90
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,038
  3. Lidija
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    7,245
  4. MetroLima
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,015
  5. Inky876
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    510
Loading...

Share This Page