Web viewing question...

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Spag_187, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. Spag_187

    Spag_187 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Clarita
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, I tried to find this answer in previous threads, but no luck. My question... is there a setting or other possible way to view website in their full version? Meaning, several website I visit only offer a downscaled "mobile" version page to view on the iPad. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    They often automatically default to mobile/tablet versions however, the better sites generally have a small link on the page to allow you to go to the full site. In addition, there are alternative browsers which can be set to fool the site into thinking that this is not a mobile device, I believe icab is one such browser.

    The Archangel
     
  3. Spag_187

    Spag_187 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Clarita
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Good to know, icab huh? I'll def check it out! Thank you...
     
  4. Bingoldsby

    Bingoldsby iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    272
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    As far as I'm concerned, iCap is a fantastic browser (in context, of course). The settings variety is bewildering, which does indeed include a setting to ID the browser as about anything you want. The default is to say that it is mobile Safari.

    Brian - Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  5. Bingoldsby

    Bingoldsby iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    272
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Can't edit on this app... and excuse me for the "iCab" misspelling.

    Brian - Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  6. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    If you are using the IPF app you can edit by touching the blue down arrow on the post header then touch edit.

    The Archangel
     
  7. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Also some browsers have problems if they are set to a Windows IE or non-mobile browser. If you're trying to use iCab then you can't enter text into the Message box if the browser type is set to a non-mobile type. Have a look at the iCab FAQ and there's a very clear explanation there of why this is the case. It's an iOS issue.

    Tim
     
  8. Bingoldsby

    Bingoldsby iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    272
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Thanks for the tip on editing... apprecate knowing that part.

    Brian - Sent from my iPad using iPF
     

Share This Page