Web Browsers

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by coastie 12, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. epb

    epb
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    888
    Thanks Received:
    18
    To me? It's ability to move between tabs more easily, to open more tabs than Safari (and in the background, no less), and to configure gestures for various functions. Despite being made by someone other than Apple, Atomic makes better use of the iPad's touch interface than Safari.

    For instance, the way I use this forum is to search for new posts. I scroll down and open all the threads I'm interested in in another tab. I then swipe back and forth among the tabs, replying where I want or swiping them closed when I'm done. I also like that you can put all your bookmarks on the menu bar, as you can swipe it back and forth if they don't fit the screen. And as been mentioned numerous times, you can set the user-agent to another browser, so you're not sent to the mobile version of a web site that wrongly identifies Safari Mobile for Ipad.
     
  2. Ultrimate

    Ultrimate
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I first got atomic lite but just today got the full version, looks good, kinda reminds me of firefox, does anybody know how to import the books marks from safari on the iPad..?
     
  3. PhilipJFry

    PhilipJFry
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Tabs are the big thing for me. Additionally, I feel like it handles bookmarks better - but that may be that my limited mind did not understand Safari's bookmark capabilities.
     
  4. Balibe

    Balibe
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Interesting .... I was able to replicate the gray box with IE8 as my rendering [the only one I checked with]. My last post was with Mobile Safari - iPad as the setting, which works fine. This is my default unless there a page I need to change it for, which is not very often.

    Perfect Browser has the rendering option from the gear icon, so you don't have to go several clicks into the settings menu to change this on the fly.

    I haven't tried it, but Perfect Browser also has a function called vBulletin Forum Helper from the Bookmark Menu that lets you reply or create threads on forums that use vBulletin software. It says the text box is grayed out and this lets you enter text. Will give it a try on my next post and update.
     
  5. lowlife

    lowlife
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Thanks Received:
    0

    I may be missing something but this does not work. I even turned the ipad on and off twice. As a default browser it would be the browser selected when you click on links in your email and other places on the ipad.
     
  6. iPadCharlie

    iPadCharlie
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,231
    Thanks Received:
    7
    That's what I was looking for... a way to make Atomic the browser that other apps look for. At least Windows lets you select a default browser other than Explorer!
     
  7. kgian

    kgian
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    There is an app in cydia named browser changer which can change the default browser. I use it successfully to change to icab!
     
  8. epb

    epb
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    888
    Thanks Received:
    18
    That requires jailbreaking, right?
     
  9. Checkpoint

    Checkpoint
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, it does.
     
  10. monkeyboy

    monkeyboy
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If you're using Atomic, then switch to, say, Mail, then back to Atomic, does it need to start up from scratch again? that would be the deal breaker for me... otherwise, I'd love a real tabbed browser...
     

Share This Page


Search tags for this page
active x browsers for ipad
,
activex browser for iphone
,
activex firefox ipad
,
atomic web activex
,
atomic web browser activex
,
enable activex atomic web
,
ipad active x browser
,

ipad activex browser

,
iphone activex browser
,
iphone browser with activex