1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

VPN-Any tricks?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by lostcontrol, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. lostcontrol
    Offline

    lostcontrol iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi All,

    I am trying to configure my iPad to connect to the same VPN accounts as my Windoze PC, but have not had much luck as yet.
    I have connected to a couple of different WiFi networks, and they can browse the internet no problems, but when I try & connect to the VPN, it seems like it times out.
    Should this just work, or is there something else that I need to to? (VPN host, Firewall setting, iPad configuration etc?)

    I see there is a VNC app available, this would add so much more power to what we are already anticipating using it for.
  2. Hasty
    Offline

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,282
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    There are a number of vnc apps available in the appstore, but I would check in these forums for discussions on these clients.
    I remember a long thread not too long ago concerning which was the best.
  3. Hasty
    Offline

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,282
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
  4. AVService
    Offline

    AVService iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have been running Mocha VNC Lite for a few weeks now on the iPhone and iPad and have had no problems at all.

    I use Tight VNC on the PC and just Screen Share on the Mac.

    It is great.

    Ed
  5. pallentx
    Offline

    pallentx iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    The key to VPN is matching the iPad's setup with the network you are connecting to. There are some VPNs the iPad doesnt support. You might need to contact someone in IT about which settings to set for your VPN. There are several options. I would think that you should be able to match how you have it in windows on the iPad.
  6. lostcontrol
    Offline

    lostcontrol iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for the replies dudes,

    I have seen all the VNC app's available, we quite reguarly use LogMeIn, and I have this installed & working just fine, but some sites require a more secure method, such as the VPN & VNC/RDP methods.

    Hi Ed,
    How do you create the intial connection to the network where the PC you are connecting to resides?

    This is the key that I am trying to un-ravel! Most of my windoze connections are automatic, but looks like they are PPTP connections. I am wondering if the iPad uses a different port to the windoze VPN, and htat maybe the firewall I am on is not allowing it?
    Apart from that, the setup does look very simple, & the device itself is awesome!!!
  7. pallentx
    Offline

    pallentx iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    If you connected with a default setup in Windows, try
    PPTP
    Server - use an ip address if a server name doesnt work
    Account - Your username on the domain you are connecting to
    RSA SecureID - off
    Password - your password
    Encryption - Auto
    Send all traffic ON
    Proxy - OFF
  8. lostcontrol
    Offline

    lostcontrol iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks pallentx, I have tried most things, but am going to keep trying :eek:, I even tried removing the password, so that I would get prompted like windoze does, but no joy yet..


    Yep, me too. I do not have it with me just now :)mad: getting withdrawal symptons), but will have another go tonight.
    If / when this does work, will just add so much more. I wonder if there a separate VPN app available, must have a lookc..
  9. pallentx
    Offline

    pallentx iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Also make sure you put you username is just as it is when you log in locally. Dont try to get fancy and qualify your domain with domain\username or username@domain. I doubt that's what you are doing, but I tried it qualified at first and it wouldn't connect like that.
  10. lostcontrol
    Offline

    lostcontrol iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Will do, am pretty sure I have the same details as my windoze one..

    I have used the direct IP, ie- 123.321.456.12 & my username & password.
    Will try again later this afternoon/evening.

    Is there certain types of 'hosts', or ports that are required? I have tried 4-5 different ones so far, but only from 3x different WiFi networks.
  11. lostcontrol
    Offline

    lostcontrol iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wellington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok, so I got the connection working :D.

    The next thing I am working on is getting the VNC app to work...
  12. pallentx
    Offline

    pallentx iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    It is possible that some wifi hotspots could be blocking VPN connections.

    Glad you got it working.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
cisco anyconnect ipad join domain
,
hibachi vpn ipad
,

how to trick ipad location

,
i have pc vpn, need on ipad
,
i pad vpn trick
,
ipad domain name for vpn
,
ipad ile vpn domain
,
ipad vpn auto connect -
,

ipad vpn mit domã¤ne

,

ipad vpn port

,
ipad vpn search domains host name
,

ipad vpn uses

,
keep ipad vpn
,

mocha vpn

,
mocha vpn connection problem
,
pornhub ipad vpn
,

vpn

,
vpn for iphone to trick location
,
vpn trick for i pad
,
what is port and vpn ipad