Volume button mutes the sound completely with one push only! Please Help

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by chbisio, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. chbisio
    Offline

    chbisio iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi everyone!

    I have a Jailbroken iPad1 with all the latest updates from Cydia for Springboard, SBSettings, etc.
    Suddenly the volume rocker down button goes completely down when pushing it down, like the default behaviour when you
    keep pushing the button down for muting, but with just one quick push on the button, the weird thing is that
    if i restart the device, the first two pushes down work perfect and are shown on the screen overlay, but at the third
    push down it goes all the way down and mutes the device. The up volume button works perfect everytime but from then on,
    the down button only mutes the device. This is driving me crazy to fix, I know it's jailbreak related or with a problematic update
    for a Cydia App because if i enter Safe Mode the volume button behaviour is normal (the down volume button works as expected every time).
    Also I disabled every mobilesubstrate tweak and it keeps happening... I will appreciate any help on this.

    Thanks in advance,
    Carlos.
  2. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,490
    Thanks Received:
    1,742
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,875 / 0
    Unfortunately, I tried what you described. And, I find I am able to exactly replicate your problem - with no fix that I know of either! So now, my iPad is acting weird, also! Well, it's probably been acting weird for a while - now I just know about it. Thanks for that ... I think. :D

    All I've done is like you ... I've installed the updates that are mainly being updated for compatibility with iOS5. So, what I'm thinking is that whatever "they" have done to the various tweaks you and I have on our iPads to make them compatible with iOS5 makes it act a bit strange on iOS 4.3.3. Well, on my 4.3.3-running iPad (you didn't say what version you are running).

    With all that said, all we can do is either (1) ignore the problem and hope another one - even worse - doesn't manifest while we're waiting to move up to iOS5 or (2) move on up to iOS 5 and do a tethered jailbreak.

    Not so good choices, yeah? But, that's all I've got ... and what I'm now faced with. Sorry.

    Marilyn

    P.S. I also have a weird reset problem - in that it takes a couple of resets plus a respring (sometimes) to get my iPad1 to look/behave properly. Again, I've been putting that down to the iOS5 upgrade tweaks, as I've not added a new tweak in ages...

    P.P.S. Oh, this is just great! Now that you've mentioned it, and I've discovered it, it's going to bother the heck out of me. So, now to make my decision - go up to iOS5 with a tethered jailbreak or not... Sigh. Again, thanks! :p

    P.P.S. So, anyone who's gotten this far and are running an iOS5 tethered jail break on the iPad1 ... how is it? Pretty stable? Cause 4.3.3 is (well, was) and I'd like the same on iOS5...
  3. chbisio
    Offline

    chbisio iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks Marilyn, your post is informative and it indicates that our problem is a result of a recent update for iOS5 compatibility. Personally, I'm satisfied with iOS4.3 and will not upgrade. But this bug is quite a pain in the *ss...
    If you or anyone reading this knows where we can notify the jailbreak community developers about this so they can fix it, it should be great.
    I searched for a forum where we can post bugs regarding cydia apps but found none.
  4. chbisio
    Offline

    chbisio iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Also It could help to be able in Cydia to install a previous version of a cydia tweak, anyone knows if its possible?

    Thanks, in advance,
    Carlos.
  5. chbisio
    Offline

    chbisio iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Sorry, I'm running iOS 4.3.1, forgot to mention.
  6. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,490
    Thanks Received:
    1,742
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,875 / 0
    Just adding a line to say that I've moved this post over to the Hacking Section ... which is what I should have done when I first posted.

    We now return you to your regular programming... :D

    Marilyn
  7. rday89
    Offline

    rday89 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I've just noticed this problem last night too - for the life of me I can't remember what I've updated recently but I'm running jailbroken 4.3.3 iPad 2 .
  8. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    Try resetting all the Activator actions to default in the activator settings. I had a few problems with gestures not working as expected after the upgrade, and this fixed it, and I can confirm that my iPad1 on 5.0 is not displaying this behaviour... :)

    Good luck.

    PS - Nor is my iPad2 on 4.3.3
  9. code101
    Offline

    code101 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I had this problem and can confirm that resetting the Activator settings to the default settings fixed it.

    *edit* Well I spoke too soon. The problem is back. The solution lasted until I turned the volume down a couple of times then came back. I think and app or Cydia app may be the problem. Perhaps it's an app that was updated to be iOS 5 compatible but messed up 4.3.1.
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2011
  10. nammi
    Offline

    nammi iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    it happened to my vol. control as well ... ipad2 3G-wifi jailbreak at 4.3.3 .. i just ignored it .. cydia has a bunch of updates recently which made the previous vers acting "differently"' .. most noteable in the winterboards .. some i wished i did not upgrade
  11. chbisio
    Offline

    chbisio iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    We need to tell this to the Cydia dev community, so they can fix it soon, nobody knows where or what is the way to post bugs?
  12. code101
    Offline

    code101 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I still have no idea which Cydia updates caused this (if the updates were the cause). Or even if it's some legit app that is now "updated for iOS5 ready".
  13. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,490
    Thanks Received:
    1,742
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,875 / 0
    For now, I'm just treating this as a real easy way to mute the iPad. This way, I can pretend it's a feature. :D

    I'm not quite ready to move up to iOS 5 and I sure don't want to have to go through all my tweaks to find out which one is the cause.

    YMMV.

    Marilyn
  14. chbisio
    Offline

    chbisio iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It is for sure a cydia tweak because if you go into safe mode (removes the jailbreak functionality) the volume button behaviour is normal, I guess its winterboard or springboard with the os5 compatibility that generated this bug.
  15. code101
    Offline

    code101 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I wonder if it's reversible in any way?
  16. chbisio
    Offline

    chbisio iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It should be reversible if someone knows a way to install a previous version of a tweak in Cydia (I searched inside the Cydia app but found no way).
  17. chbisio
    Offline

    chbisio iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Have contacted BigBoss from thebigboss.org and he didn't answer with help, he said it was unrelated to the latest updates for iOS5 compatibility.
    So we are in the dark now... we'll have to hopeless wait for the next update to fix it...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
audio volume mute ios cydia
,
disable ipad sound buttons
,
hackers turning volume up and down
,
ipad disable volume button mute
,
ipad how to diable sound button
,

ipad volume button mutes

,

ipad volume goes all the way down

,
ipad volume suddenly goes all the way down
,
jailbroken iphone 5, when i press the volume button it goes mute every time i push the button before it resumes sound
,
mute all jailbroken
,
voulume turns down all the way when on ipad
,
what to do when volume button on ipad is pushed all the way in
,
when i press volume button on my iphone the sound mutes
,
when i push down volume button sound goes off iohone
,
when you press volume down it goes to mute on pt980auh