Viewing MyYahoo News items in Atomic Browser

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Mattmilw, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. Mattmilw

    Mattmilw iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I am suddenly having problems reading MyYahoo news items in Atomic Web Browser. Below shows what I am getting. It doesn't happen on all news items (sports items, for example, view ok). I believe Yahoo has gone to a new Beta format for their news. I have tried several different selections to identify the browser, but it doesn't change anything. The same items view normal in Safari.

    My guess is I'm going to have to take this up with Yahoo (Ugh), but I thought I'd run it by the good folks here first.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Matt



    [​IMG]
     
  2. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,595
    Thanks Received:
    1,840
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,017 / 0
    It looks as if Yahoo! has a defective mobile web site. I typed in the address you have showing and get the same thing. The article is at the bottom, though, in a stripped down, mobile version. I don't see a way to go to the desktop web version, either.

    Looks as if you'll have to get with Yahoo! people. It's their web site that's messed up and if they want eyeballs on it, they will probably fix it.

    Marilyn
     
  3. Riffraf

    Riffraf iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have this exact issue, but using Safari on iPad. Any more ideas?
     
  4. Mattmilw

    Mattmilw iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I ended up contacting Atomic's developer. He asked if I was running the AdBlocker, which I was. I turned it off and the pages would then load correctly. I reported back to him that it was in fact an AdBlocker issue, and he said he'd look into it. While waiting for a fix, I found there were 2 specific AdBlocker items that would cause it. I unchecked those, and I'm able to still run AdBlocker, and have the pages view ok. I relayed this back to the developer, but I never got a response.

    So, are you running an AdBlocker? If you are, can you select specific filters? The ones causing my issues are Http://*/ads/* and Http://*sponsor

    I hope this helps.
     
  5. Riffraf

    Riffraf iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks! I tried to whitelist those two filters but it didn't help. I can't see any other way to disable any specific filters. Or, maybe there's another filter still causing problems? I disabled adblocker and the page rendered fine.

    So, I can live with funky rendering, or ads while we wait for a real fix. Decisions, decisions...
     
  6. Mattmilw

    Mattmilw iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Another option is to switch to Atomic's browser. I really like it.
     

Share This Page