Video thumbnails changing

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by BikeFlagAZ, Oct 8, 2019.

  1. BikeFlagAZ

    BikeFlagAZ
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    2
    After updating to iPadOS I noticed that if I play any video from the Photos app, the thumbnail changes.
    Previously, the first frame was always used as the thumbnail, so I always made that a title screen so I could tell what the video was. Now, it grabs a random frame, which makes it nearly impossible to tell which video I’m about to play.

    Airdropped videos to my iPhone (iOS 13.1.2) and don’t get the changing thumbnails.

    Anyone else having this issue?

    Adjustments.JPG
     
  2. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    21,444
    Thanks Received:
    7,905
    No. All my videos show the first frame as the thumbnail. Then again, I don’t have any title screens. I wonder if Apple is trying to be helpful, and an AI is seeing the title screens as having no content, then moving the thumbnail to the first screen with an obvious scene.

    Is the new thumbnail, by chance, the first frame after the title?

    That’s the only thing I can thing of. Nothing I did in photos changed the thumbnails on the videos I tested.
     
  3. BikeFlagAZ

    BikeFlagAZ
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Most of the thumbnails are from 15 seconds in, but one was about 45 seconds.

    My iPad has been very flaky since installing iPadOS. I’m thinking of wiping it clean and doing a fresh install of everything to see if that will help.
     
  4. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    21,444
    Thanks Received:
    7,905
    Before you do a full reset, try the lesser Reset All Settings. It has been known to fix unexpected behavior, especially right after an update.

    You’ll have to re-tweek many your settings and preferences, but none of your content will be lost.
     

Share This Page