Verizon Store 3G Help FAIL

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by pennicat, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. pennicat
    Offline

    pennicat iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Bought the iPad 2 at my local Verizon store last week. Two nights ago, I decided to activate the 3G just to try it out for a month so signed up for the lowest plan. Got a confirmation via e-mail AND the charge has been made to my credit card. However, I've not been able to activate it.

    When I go through the process, I get to a certain point and get a message to "reprovision" the account by going to the Settings> Reset> Subscription Services> Reprovision. When I do that (while connected via wifi) nothing happens. Nothing at all. There was a phone number displayed in the window that told me to go through this process to call in the event that it doesn't work.

    Well, since I work 3 blocks from the local store, I just chose to stop by instead. The woman who helped me didn't know what to do (I had hoped that they had seen this problem with other folks so would be able to help really quickly). So, after showing her what happens (or doesn't happen, actually), she called the number provided and got a Verizon tech who knew absolutely nothing about the iPad 3G service and transferred her to another department.

    This tech really didn't have a clue either but tried to help. She told us to do a hard reset by removing the battary (duh - not possible). Then she asked what my cell number was (Umm, I'm not a verizon phone customer), then she asked if I'd received a text message - umm, how could I recieve a text message when I can't even turn on the cell service? Well, finally, she got frustrated enough that she actually hung up on the woman helping me! I didn't have time to stick around on my lunch break so took off and will be calling their main customer service number tonight from home (I don't have wifi service at work, so can't trouble shoot from here).

    Anyway, sorry for the long story. Has anyone else had this problem and know what I need to do to fix it? Thanks!
  2. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    I love verizon but customer service depends on location. Try another store. The store closest to me has terrible service, but a verizon kiosk in bj's warehouse ( like SAM's) has the best customer service of any store I have been to in my life. I dropped my phone (so it was my fault) and my phone was out of warranty and they gave me a new one free and they waved the activation fee. Just depends on the person and if they are having a good day. But of course the iPad is new so you are going to get responses like "take out the battery" and "what is your number?". So just try a different store.
  3. pennicat
    Offline

    pennicat iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That wasn't the store that had those suggestions to take out the battery - it was their corporate technical customer service! The rep helping me at the store knew better and had to tell them that it could not be removed. I'm not really frustrated with the store, as they only found out on Thursday that they would even have supplies of the iPad 2 in stock for sale. I'm frustrated that their corporate didn't have a clue but I'll be calling them later tonight to try again. There are not very many Verizon stores in the area so I'll be trying that before hitting up a store again. However, my hope was that someone here had the answer to the issue. Thanks.
  4. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Don't give up yet! Wait for more responses! But get verizon to give you your money back for the data plan. You shouldn't have to pay for it if you can't use it. This is the second product apple has put on verizon so there will be bugs.
  5. pennicat
    Offline

    pennicat iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You can be assured that once I get it working, I'll be requesting they extend the plan by the number of days that I haven't been able to use it!
  6. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Thats a better idea!
  7. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,563
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,428 / 1
    Well, I can't vouch for Verizon, but I know that I can't change look at, or update my AT&T plan unless I have 3G turned on. Go to Settings, Cellular Data, turn on 3G and tap on View Account (or whatever it says) right there.

    If that's not how Verizon is set up, I apologize, but it's the best I can do. Unless you want to send me a Verizon iPad to play with. I'd be happy to figure it out then. :D
  8. pennicat
    Offline

    pennicat iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That's the first thing I did, and that's where this is happening. I use the username and password that I registered with Verizon when I set up and paid for the account. Then I get the message to do this "reprovisioning" that's not working. Also, I have to have a wifi connect to get this far - if I have it turned off, I don't even get the option to enter my login credentials.
  9. Mountainbikermark
    Offline

    Mountainbikermark iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,395
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colonial Heights,Va
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    2 things;a friend of mine is a Verizon store manager and stated they were trained to turn ALL Apple related issues over to Apple. Second did you try activating over 3g vs wifi? To activate my hot spot I had to actually use IT to get to the Verizon website to activate it's usage. Until I did that I basically payed $20 for nothing

    Support Our Troops!!
    This post was Tapatalk approved. Sent from my Incpad
  10. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,563
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,428 / 1
    Darn. I had a feeling that I wasn't being helpful, but I had to try. Hope you get it resolved soon.
  11. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Really? I can access mine using wifi. Strange....
  12. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Oh, you changed your avatar!
  13. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    LOL! Did you see it change?
  14. qnet
    Offline

    qnet iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Morrow, Ga.
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I don't know if this got solved yet but, I had the same problem and this it what worked for me. I called Verizon and the guy who helped me was very good. He told me to try to log on to my Verizon account without wi-fi on first. That didn't work so, he had me just restart the Ipad and, after that it worked. It didn't find the Verizon signal right away, it took about 30 seconds.

    The crazy thing is, in the process of doing this, I solved another problem.
  15. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,563
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,428 / 1
    I thought so too, but whenever I've tried to view my account it's always failed unless I have cellular turned on. Could just be a coincidence.

    Then again, just tried it again, three times. I get:

    The device information was not received.
    Please close the page and reopen View Account. (USIM9997)​

    Then I turn on the Cellular Data switch and try, and it asks for my logon information.

    Anyway, getting off topic for the thread. If I ever decide it's a problem I'll a make a post about it.
  16. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Oh, no. I just noticed. I guess you are celebrating your "promotion". :)
  17. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,563
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,428 / 1
    It does seem to have put a sparkle in her eye. :D
  18. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Oh! Pun! I guess everyone can figure that out...
  19. pennicat
    Offline

    pennicat iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well, yes I tried, but how am I supposed to get there via 3G if I can't activate it!
  20. pennicat
    Offline

    pennicat iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I wondered if rebooting might do it, but of course I completely forgot to try. I'll try that and see if it works.
Similar Threads
  1. Carey
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    2,338
  2. tweeter
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    960
  3. ladyluck
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,053
  4. Ipadgk
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    739
  5. WTW
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    4,488
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
cant can't reprovision account on my ipad mini
,
how to reprovision ipad 3g
,
ipad 2 reprovision account
,
ipad 3 reprovision account
,
ipad reprovision account
,
ipad subscriber services reprovision
,
ipad subscriber services reprovision reset authentication
,
ipad what is reprovision account
,
reporvision account on ipad
,
reporvision ipad
,

reprovision account

,
reprovision account ipad
,
reprovision account ipad 2
,
reprovision ipad
,
reprovision verizon ipad
,
reset reprovision account
,
what does reprovision account mean
,
what does reprovision account on ipad mean
,
what does reprovisioning the account do?
,
what does reprovisioning the account on ipad do