using new Ipad with 3G

Discussion in 'iPad 3 Forum' started by allan76, May 27, 2012.

  1. allan76
    Offline

    allan76 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The only reason I bought a new Ipod with 3G was so I could use it as a GPS when I am travelling. I have downloaded a good app that shows me the route before I leave home because it is connected to wi-fi but when I am out I will have to use the salletite but I cannot find how to make that work.

    Can anyone help me. I do not want to purchase another sim card as I already have a mobile phone for making phone calls and can even use it for data if I want to but I do not see any necessity to do that outside.

    Thank you, Allan
  2. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,827
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,652 / 1
    You need an app that stores the maps locally instead of downloading them (as needed) off the internet. NavFree is free. Given the size of the app it must download the maps after the app is installed; but it does work off line according to the description.

    I use CoPilot Live Premium HD. Only ok, but cheaper than most of the other choices; and there are a lot of other choices.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. allan76
    Offline

    allan76 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have installed NavFree but it could not find my location while trying it outside. I don't think I have 3 g turned on. How do I do that?
  4. Barnipad
    Offline

    Barnipad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pretoria, South Africa
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Stupid question (or maybe not). Did you switch on the Location services in Settings? Then Navfree should be switched on as well (this is under Location services). The only time Navfree asked me so far for connection (3G) is when I enter a street address.
  5. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,827
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,652 / 1
    The actually NavFree app is quite small. That means it still needs to download the maps. Apps that download with the maps installed often exceed 1GB.

    Not having used it myself, I'm not sure what needs to be done; but one thing is for sure, it will have to be done with an internet connection until the needed maps have been downloaded.

    I dont know if you download the maps by setting up a trip, or whether there is some option to download your area maps. Try their support site and see if there are any directions or FAQs.

    Good luck.
  6. HKey_Current_User
    Offline

    HKey_Current_User iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    There is in "upgrade" option in the NavFree app that gets you to a list of maps. You can download them ahead of time, as needed. I did notice that it only lists the states. If you need coverage outside of the US, you'll need to look at other apps.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,827
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,652 / 1
    There are about 22 NavFree apps, each for a different part of the world.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. allan76
    Offline

    allan76 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you everybody for your help. I have just proved today that I do not need a sim card to use my iPad as a gps. Even so far as a sweet female voice telling me where to go. I used navfree and set up the route before I left home with my broadband then turned off wi fi when I left home. Allan
  9. zphone
    Offline

    zphone iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    466
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    This seems to me a rather poor reason to buy an iPad when there are relatively cheap GPS units that have free map updates and work well in all kinds of conditions without any 3G or wifi connection.

    There must be more than that to your reasoning...?
  10. kikipotter
    Offline

    kikipotter iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    U can check trip advisor app!! Maybe
  11. allan76
    Offline

    allan76 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The difference in price between a 3G model and a GPS is much less than buying a dedicated GPS.

    I do not need to use my Ipad to browse the internet and pay cellphone rates because they are very expensive in my country.

    It would be a lot better to find a wifi hotspot if I am travelling. I have a cellphone if I need to make a phone call.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

call using new ipad

,
can i make call with ipad using sim card?
,
making phone call with sim card in ipad3