1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Using AT&T 3G, 64GB iPad 2 in Ghana

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by kirkland, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. kirkland
    Offline

    kirkland iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have ipad2 purchased from Apple store in the US. I intend using it in Ghana. However, there is no slot on the tablet to insert a SIM card from my service provider in Ghana. Kindly advise on what needs to be done.

    Thanks.
  2. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,980
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,986 / 1
    If you do not have a SIM slot you either have a Wi-Fi only tablet, or you purchased the Verizon CDMA tablet. Either way you can not use the tablet on a GSM network. At least not directly.

    Your only option (other than replacing the tablet) is to use the tablet with a mobile hotspot device. Some phones can do this (with the right plan) and there are stand alone devices. They create a small Wi-Fi network that the tablet can connect to.
  3. M57
    Offline

    M57 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have an iPad2 3G with an AT&T Sim. Up until recently, whenever I have checked the "Add International Plan" feature in the Cellular Data Account, Ghana was not on the list of "regions supported".

    However, just the other day -- around mid June 2012, Ghana showed up. I will be traveling there in August, so I'm excited about the prospect that it might work. Can anyone confirm that my iPad2 will connect while I'm there??

    Thanks!
  4. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,980
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,986 / 1
    No idea. You should probably call AT&T, to confirm that they have 3G or Edge services in Ghana that are compatible.

    I wonder, does this added International Plan thing bypass the excessive roaming charges?
  5. M57
    Offline

    M57 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I don't know how they'd collect roaming charges -- the minutes are pre-paid. I'm not signing anything that says I'm responsible to pay roaming fees, but nonetheless, it's a good thing you brought it up. I'll ask.
  6. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,980
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,986 / 1
    If it's pre-pay then it's not roaming. Still a good idea to make sure roaming it turned off in the cellular settings.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i take my ipad to ghana
,
can i used my ipad in ghana
,
does at&t work in ghana
,
does at&t works in ghana
,
ghana ussd for ipad 3g
,
internet service for ipad in ghana
,
ipad use in ghana
,
is there att&t service in ghana
,
prices of ipads and tablets in ghana
,
slightly ipad or tablet in ghana
,
used my tablet in ghana
,
using a tablet in ghana
,
using ipad 2 in ghana
,

using ipad in ghana

,
using tablet with phone in ghana
,
what kind of ipad can be use in ghana
,
which ipad do i need in ghana
,
which ipad will work in ghana
,
wifi network for ipad in ghana
,
will an ipad operate in ghana