used ipad 1

Discussion in 'iPad 1 Forum' started by dunkinidaho, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. dunkinidaho

    dunkinidaho iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I wish to buy a used ipad 1 for my grandchildren so we can face-time. How would I "format" the unit to wipe all previous info and apps from the thing. Or, is this something that I should ask the seller to do. Perhaps ipads can't be formatted, I have no idea. Please advise

    thanks!
     
  2. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,261
    Thanks Received:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +865 / 0
    Settings/General/Reset/Erase all contents and Settings.

    Do NOT do this if its jail broken. In this case, have a look at the Hacking section for further info.
     
  3. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,261
    Thanks Received:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +865 / 0
    There's a more than even chance the vendor will do this for you prior to the sale. Most people would, to clear out any personal data they have on there. And if anyone offers an iPad with a load of games on it, don't be taken in. Any apps will be keyed to their AppleID, not yours.

    If you need any more info, just holler and we will be here.
     
  4. iJamesH

    iJamesH iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    900
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +115 / 0
    You can't do Facetime with an iPad 1 since the original iPad doesn't have a camera.
     
  5. KevinJS

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,261
    Thanks Received:
    763
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +865 / 0
    Crap. I'm dumb. I never noticed that. Someone slap me.

    Yup. You need an iPad 2.
     
  6. sayed.mateen

    sayed.mateen iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No you are Rong
     
  7. sonico74

    sonico74 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My old iPad 1 is just beside me and still working fine (but a bit slow). I confirm : No camera so No Facetime
     
  8. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    21,113
    Thanks Received:
    2,791
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +3,379 / 2
    As long as you use the iPad 1 within its limitations, it will continue to give you years of good service.
     
  9. The OB

    The OB Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,171
    Thanks Received:
    1,017
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,120 / 1
    While you are driving? Maybe on that ice? You're joking


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  10. Nikhil

    Nikhil iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    It's gonna cost you 99 dollars I guess.My friend owns an ipad 1 he took it to some shop over here.And it cost him 99$
     
  11. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    21,113
    Thanks Received:
    2,791
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +3,379 / 2
    What costs $99.00? We weren't talking about iPad repair on this thread.
     
  12. Nikhil

    Nikhil iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    I know.Here they fit a front camera for 99$.In Hyderabad,India.Thats what I was telling
     
  13. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Even if you could fit a front camera to the device, the OS is missing the software necessary to drive it. That sounds like a scam to me! ;)

    You don't magically get access to the camera app / facetime etc. just by adding the hardware to the device! Those components are missing from IOS on the iPad1 and you cannot simply choose to add them yourself. IOS doesn't work like that.
     
  14. Nikhil

    Nikhil iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    We can use Skype
     
  15. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Hmmm. I simply cannot fathom how that could possibly work. No video drivers in IOS. And I wonder where they solder the camera to...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
format ipad usaded
,

used ipads 1