Usage availability

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by juliaaf, Jun 30, 2013.

  1. juliaaf
    Offline

    juliaaf iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have an ipad that has 28.6 gb memory and it shows I only have 2.2 gb available . . Problem is when I pull up my usage chart and add it all up, it only adds up to a liitle over 6 gb used (2.2 gb and 4250 mb). Any thoughts as to what is wrong? Thanks
  2. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    11,240
    Thanks Received:
    3,078
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +3,685 / 3
    Hi there and welcome!

    You were looking at the list in Settings - General - Usage - Storage, I suppose.
    Did you also tap "Show all Apps" there, to add the storage of all your apps?

    image-2687370461.jpg

    It must have been quite a lot of work, adding the numbers of every single app on your iPad.

    There seems to be a striking difference between memory - available - used on your iPad.

    Perhaps one of these suggestions will solve your problem:

    Reboot your iPad: press Home and Power button, until the Apple logo appears.
    Restart your iPad: simply turn it off, then on again.
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2013
  3. juliaaf
    Offline

    juliaaf iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I really don't use my ipad a lot so I only have about 20 apps. And it did press the show all apps button. I will try rebooting and thanks very much for trying to help
  4. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    11,240
    Thanks Received:
    3,078
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +3,685 / 3
    I hope it will help.
    If it doesn't work, don't hesitate to come back and ask for help again.
  5. juliaaf
    Offline

    juliaaf iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Unfortunately, rebooting didn't work. My friend, who is a tech person and very skilled with iPads, has no explanation either.
  6. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    11,240
    Thanks Received:
    3,078
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +3,685 / 3
    This seems to happen very rarely.
    What I found you could try also was syncing with iTunes on your computer.
    Or as a last solution: backup your iPad and restore it. I can't promise that it will help. Sorry!
  7. The OB
    Offline

    The OB Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,042
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ratings:
    +931 / 1
    The advice by J.A. above seems to have canvassed the solutions. It may well be necessary to restore your iPad to factory settings.
    Regards, Andrew



    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    • Like Like x 1
Similar Threads
  1. FevLad
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,117
  2. orress39
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,730
  3. MELC
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,841
  4. Tuttle
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    447
  5. Mesqueunclub
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    550
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ipad available usage

,

ipad usage and available dont add uo