US iPad - Travel to Canada

Discussion in 'North America' started by JWKessler, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. JWKessler

    JWKessler iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nineveh Junction, NY
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a Verizon 3G iPad 2 and we are planing to spend a couple of days north of the border this coming week. I'm wondering if the 3G service will be usable in Canada? I'm new at this 3G stuff so I'm hoping someone here has more experience with this.

    Sent from my iPad 2 using iPF
     
  2. Renzo

    Renzo iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No Canada use gsm so you need an AT&T ipad2


    Sent from my iPad2 using Tapatalk
     
  3. Bruce S

    Bruce S iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    JWKessler, check with your provider for roaming in Canada. From what little I know iPads sold in US are locked to the provider and come with micro-sim already instaled. iPads sold in Canada are not locked and the provider / micro sim is installed by the owner. Through a bunch of rigmunro there is a way a Canadian can get AT&T micro sim from a US Walmart and use the iPad in US. There are alot of posts made arround the beinging of this year about this topic, hopfully you can find them, they may help you.
    You could stoop to using free WiFi, there is a free App. called Free Wi-Fi Finder that will help.

    PS I should have read through the sticky "Travelling With iPad" your answer is there.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2011
  4. JWKessler

    JWKessler iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nineveh Junction, NY
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I should have checked that myself! Thanks for letting me know it's there.

    I chose Verizon because they seem to have better coverage in my area - though of course I don't need coverage at home - duh!
     
  5. antonio107

    antonio107 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    As a Canuck who travels with his blackberry and laptop down south a lot, let me say...Starbucks and McDonald's are your friends! :D
     
  6. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Contrary to common belief, Verizon is available in Canada in some areas...here's the coverage map...

    CDMA Data Roaming

    Tim
     
  7. JWKessler

    JWKessler iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nineveh Junction, NY
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for that! Now I wonder how that works with the iPad data plan? I guess when I go there I'll test it.

    Sent from my iPad 2 using iPF
     
  8. Reef_Shark

    Reef_Shark iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    qft :)
     
  9. Jglandau

    Jglandau iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a Verizon iPad 2. Verizon does offer a roaming data plan, but the cost is absurd at $100 per 200MB. Use the Free Wifi Finder App, Starbucks and McDonalds. Many hotels have free wifi in the lobby too. I also found lots of unsecured wifi connections walking the streets in Vancouver last month... Even YVR offered free wifi.
     
  10. JWKessler

    JWKessler iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nineveh Junction, NY
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I guess I won't test it after all! Thanks for the warning!
     
  11. pcastricum

    pcastricum iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Two words to be aware of is "roaming charges"!

    Best way to surf the net here in Canada is using Wi-Fi.
     
  12. nursedude

    nursedude iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If you want 3G up here you can get 5GB of data from Bell for about $35, Telus offers 500MB for 20 bucks. Factor in a micro SIM card (approx$10) and taxes and you're looking at 35 - 50 dollars. You have to sign up for 30 days but can cancel when it RNA out. As earlier posters have suggested...free wifi is a much better option.
     
  13. JWKessler

    JWKessler iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nineveh Junction, NY
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It seems like that will only work for AT&T iPads. My Verizon iPad has no SIM slot.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i use i pad in canada with no charges
,
using verizon cellular on ipad in canada
,
verizon 3g canada
,
verizon ipad in canada
,
verizon ipad roaming canada
,
verizon ipad service in canada
,

will my ipad work in canada

,
will my verizon ipad work in canada
,
will verizon data on my ipad work in canada
,
will verizon ipad 3g work in canada