Urgent: Will first use of iPad2 automatically upgrade the iOS

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by Surfinette, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. Surfinette
    Offline

    Surfinette iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Hi I currently own a IPad 2 32Go, but I find it too small, so I plan to buy a iPad 64 Go and sell my 32 Go to my mum.
    if the new iPad2 64 Go which I plan to get today is still 4.3.3 out of the box, will the first connection to my PC and to iTune automatically update my iPad to iOS 4.3.4 (which I absolutely want to avoid because I want to still be able to JB the new iPad)?

    This, assuming my retail store still has in stock some iPad received before the iOS upgrade on July 16th...
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011
  2. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    It should not. Mine was on 4.3 when I bought it and from what I rememeber, 4.3.1 was already out.
  3. Surfinette
    Offline

    Surfinette iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Thanks

    A few confirmation by other users would be great, because I'd prefer to keep a 32Go JB rather than switching to a 64Go non-KB
  4. Gzoladz
    Offline

    Gzoladz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    D
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Absolutely, that's the right thing to do.
  5. DefBref
    Offline

    DefBref iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    979
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Egremont
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    iTunes always asks before updating, it never does it automatically.
  6. Surfinette
    Offline

    Surfinette iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Yes but since it's a brand new iPad, I was wondering if the first connexion was not like a "restore" hence the latest iOS version would be installed ...
  7. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    No, nothing is ever automatic. You will be prompted.
    If it comes with 4.3.3 you will need to take care. Dont' accept the upgrade. Jailbreak it using jailbreakme.com if you like, but take care on what you install after that, because if you end up putting somethig old or incomatible on your iPad that messes it up you will have no way to restore to 4.3.3 again, since you don't have saved blobs and don't have any way to get them now.

    So remember. Be careful. Use the forum to ask questions. Look at our apps section for stuff that is safe. Don't go installing things without checking first. Then you should be golden.
  8. Surfinette
    Offline

    Surfinette iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Why can't I save blobs if I'm still in 4.3.3?
  9. Pocobear
    Offline

    Pocobear iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, usa
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    When you first plug it into iTunes it will ask you to upgrade, if it's out of date, click NO and then click on the small box that says "Don't ask again.", that way it won't be pestering you to upgrade, and most importantly, it will help you avoid "accidentally upgrading". After you JB it Cydia will have your blobs saved on their sites. Download "Tiny Umbrella" and save your blobs locally, just to be safe. This will allow you to downgrade if you ever upgrade and want to go back.
  10. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    You cannot save blobs which are no longer being provided by Apple, unless you have an iPad1 in which case you can use iFaith to save the blobs for the firmware you have installed.
    For iPad2 you can only get the blobs Apple currently provide, which are 4.3.4 today.

    There is a sticky FAQ on the subject. Please read it :)

Share This Page