Urgent Help Needed

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by HossamRashad, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. HossamRashad
    Offline

    HossamRashad iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Dears, i have just jailbroken my ipad running ios 5.0.1 using Absinte, and after installing some tweaks my ipad looked like an ipad with no dock and small icons and applications running in quarter of the screen, see the image below, please help as i am stuck and i am not able to use the device what so ever, i there is a possible fix without having to restotre?
    ,IMG_0214.PNG
  2. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,098
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +749 / 0
    I've moved this to the Hacking section for you, to hopefully get you the best responses possible.

    The Archangel
  3. HossamRashad
    Offline

    HossamRashad iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks i hope so too
  4. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    You have installed an application designed for iPhone on your iPad. This is a VERY bad idea. You need to ensure you only install things which are iPad and iOS5 compatible. You can't simply try to install any old package on there. The descriptions in Cydia should guide you.

    You need to be able to get into Cydia to remove the offending package. The best way to do that is via Safe Mode. Have a look at our guide here - http://www.ipadforums.net/jailbreak...-use-safe-mode-maintain-stable-jailbreak.html

    If you cannot get into safe mode and you cannot use Cydia to remove the package from the state that your device is in at the moment then you are probably faced with a restore and re-jailbreak :( Sorry.

    Other iPad2 owning members should take heed! If you make mistakes like this once the singing window for 5.0.1 is closed you may lose your 5.0.1 jailbreak FOREVER!
  5. dahauss
    Offline

    dahauss iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I had a sililar issue but respringing fixed it. How do we dont what app is starting up and doing this? I made sure to only insta; IPAD tweeks....On my IPAD 3, it only seems to happen if I turn off the ipad and then turn it back on.... I dont do that too much... as I said, after I turn it back on a resapring fixes it
  6. TheRambler
    Offline

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    This is an old post dahauss. There is a process now whereby you press the volume button when rebooting, im not overly sure of the process but if you search this section im sure you'll find it.

    I'll find a link and post it
  7. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,592
    Thanks Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,013 / 0
    Unfortunately, it still is because of an incompatible tweak. It doesn't whether it's incompatible because your iPad's not a phone or the iOS is new, that type of behavior is going to happen because a malfunctioning tweak is causing it.

    I know this personally because I just got done with a long session of trying to figure out the very problem you had (after turning off, then on - or re-booting my iPad3, I had to respring to get my it to look right). It was driving me nuts because I couldn't figure it out - and I really didn't want to remove any of the tweaks I had. I have so few and they are what I wanted! :)

    But, I bit the bullet and determined that i had to remove the tweak Move2Unlock. Don't you know that hurt my feelings ... bad! However, I've almost convinced myself that I LIKE "slide to unlock" actions.

    But enough about me... :D

    The gist of this is that you have a misbehaving tweak, whether you think so or not. You'll have to go through them, one-by-one until you find the one that's misbehaving. Or, don't turn off/on (or reboot) the iPad. Those are really the only two options. Sorry.

    Marilyn
  8. IronMan117
    Offline

    IronMan117 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I escaped to safe mode and back. Respring didn't work for me.
  9. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    That won't work. You need to remove the tweak that is causing the problem. That is what safe mode is for. Simply re-springing won't fix anything.

    You need to remove it and wait until the developer updates it or find an alternative ;)
  10. IronMan117
    Offline

    IronMan117 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It worked for me. Mine had the funny screen when I let the battery run down forcing it to close my game without saving. I've let it run out of battery before but this is the first this has happened. The posts here gave me an idea so with SBSettings I was able to force Safe Mode and exit without modifying. It worked for me...
  11. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Your post mislead me. It read as though you were stating that going into safe mode and re-springing didn't work for you.
    Entering and exiting safe mode without doing anything else is technically no different than a respring ;)
    It simply restarts all the tweaks again, so may simply mask the underlying problem until it occurs again later.
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2013

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ipad has small icons
,

ipad icons scattered

,
ipad jailbreak small icons
,

ipad small icons

,

my ipad icons are small