What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Upgrades and Version Options from iOS 6.1.3

PHantasy

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Good evening everyone! I recently inherited my cousin's old iPad 2 since he doesn't use it that much anymore. I'm a graduate student and I was hoping to use it primarily for studying.

However, it's still in iOS 6.1.3. I hear that Apple will not upgrade iPad 2 to iOS 8 [EDIT: It will be! Can't remember who I read/heard that from... I should've checked Apple's website :) ]. I didn't want to upgrade anything (firmware, apps, etc.) unless I knew what I was doing. I wanted to inquire about my options from here (Oh and btw, I'm open to jailbreaking ;)).

I did try to read around here and there... I'll summarize what I already know and what I find out from you guys below in case someone else is in the same predicament.

====My Options==== Editted 09/14/14
1. Stay on iOS 6.1.3 and Do Not Jailbreak
+ Better battery life ?
- Highly possible for a large number of apps to become unsupported

2. Stay on iOS 6.1.3 and Jailbreak
+ Better battery life ?
+ Easier/Safer? to jailbreak than the latest version (EDIT: "There is a jailbreak for iOS 7.1.2, the Pangu Jailbreak Tool" - Mikey330)
+ Access to other App stores
- Highly possible for a large number of apps to become unsupported
- I might brick the iPad if I don't know what I'm doing or something interrupts the JB process

3. Upgrade to iOS 7.1.2 and Do Not Jailbreak
+ Slightly faster than previous version ?
+ Apps continue to be supported
- May not be as snappy as previous OS

4. Upgrade to iOS 7.1.2 and Jailbreak (The iPad Hacking section has an awesome-looking post for this here!)
+ Slightly faster than previous version ?