What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Undecided - should I buy an iPad?

sgtzebrapants

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi everyone! My name is Kate and I am new to the site. I came across this website as I was googling reviews of the iPad. I hope you guys can help me!

I have been considering purchasing an iPad since they were released. I absolutely LOVE the entertainment aspect of the device. If I was just buying it for that - I would've had an iPad years ago.. but ...

I am a graduate student, so spending 1000 bucks on something that cannot aid me in my studies is out of the question. Several friends in other programs say the iPad is a great tool to have, but I remain skeptical. I'm hoping someone can answer my many questions!

Can the iPad completely replace hard-copy textbooks? Are most textbooks available in e-format and how do I go about finding them? When I purchase an etextbook, do I also have the choice of printing a hard copy? Is the highlight function on the iPad enough to replace an ink highlighter? Am I able to place notes on articles as I am reading them on the iPad?

Can I take effective notes during class on the iPad using a stylus or wireless keyboard? (I am SO tired of lugging my 17 inch laptop to and from) And after I take the notes, can I email them to myself or should I send them to the cloud? Or both? How easy is it to do this? (One of my main worries is lack of USB port)

I will not be using the iPad for research - I have a dedicated PC (I begged and BEGGED for a Mac..to no avail.) in my office for that - but I would like the ability to type papers and create presentations on the iPad. Is this possible?