"Unable to join" wireless network...calling all network gurus....

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Bullpen7979, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. Bullpen7979
    Offline

    Bullpen7979 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My wife would like to connect her jailbroken Ipad 2 to the wireless network at her job which is provided by a Netgear WDNR 3700 at her job. (has permission)

    It is "unable to connect" to the network, for some reason. Many other clients at same location are able to connect and reconnect to this router, after I tweaked a few router settings (see below) It connects to two different wireless network ap's I have at home just fine, so I know the hardware works.

    I have searched the forums on this issue, and it seems there are (were?) a number of people having this issue.

    Here, (per the searches and proposed solutions) is what I have tried.

    On the iPad,
    Have tried DHCP and Static IP scheme to match that of the rest of the network.
    Changed between a couple different DNS specs that I saw on other machines (again ,successfully connected to the network)
    Switching wireless off, then on again.
    Shutting off bluetooth.
    Resetting network settings.

    No luck with any of that.

    Digging deeper, I get into the router settings, and try to change the broadcast channel from "auto' to "1". (someone else hashed it out like that) Nothing.
    Try dumbing down the speed to "up to 54 mbps" from "up to 300 mbps". Nothing.

    SSID broadcast is disabled, but I don't think this is the issue. I know for a fact that the network name and password I'm using is correct.

    The security on the router is set to WPA-PSK (TKIP) + WPA-PSK AES. Is the iPad 2 compatible with this level of encryption??

    I have a hunch that dumbing this down to just WEP encryption would solve the problem, but as I am only the 'unofficial' IT guy, I chose not to compromise network security for the sake of accommodating a non mission-critical device without having express permission to do so.

    So, I suppose we could go there after hours (wife has a key) and try WEP to see if that solves the problem, but again this is a "talk to the boss" thing for sure before making the change on a permanent basis.

    I'm stuck. Can anybody think of anything else that might be tried? I'm about ready to root her android phone and just tell her to tether, but that looks like a bit of a process as well....Ughh. Fun stuff.

    Any constructive input related to solving the problem appreciated.

    Thanks listers...
  2. hbranha
    Offline

    hbranha iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, Calif
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Wireless networks has a limited bandwidth, which means that once it reaches it's limit no one else can inter. Also the network adm can also limit the number of users. First go after hours and try to log on. You iPad should automatically find any wireless networks in that location and ask for a password to join. The security settings except for the password on that network should not apply! Make sure that you reboot your device, you want to see the apple icon then proceed. If your device can find and log on to your network at home then it tells me that it's something at the work place that is preventing you from logging on if password is correct.
    Sometimes you may have to try four or five times before it connects. Henry
  3. joeyteel
    Offline

    joeyteel iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    194
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    The encryption is supported. In that mode it selects the strongest of the two methods that the device supports (my own router uses the same setup)

    Probably a stupid question, but did you check if MAC filtering is enabled? Based on the symptoms that seems like a likely candidate.
  4. hbranha
    Offline

    hbranha iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, Calif
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Wireless Network

    Have you checked the settings on the IPads at work that can connect to the network and just transfer them to yours.
    Next you might have have to do a VPN to connect to the work place. It's in the settings field under Wifi. Open it up
    Write down the info needed an go to your Network Adm to get the info needed and you should be able to connect.
    Henry
  5. hbranha
    Offline

    hbranha iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, Calif
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I also have a net gear router, you should see two possible connections if it is duel ban if not you should see at least one band that you can connect to from your IPad. If not turn on wifi which I know you have right. Henry
  6. Bosvaark
    Offline

    Bosvaark iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    388
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Don't you just love it when the OP never comes back to check the post.
  7. quake5254
    Offline

    quake5254 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    642
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philippine
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Guess he found a solution. Amen.
  8. Bullpen7979
    Offline

    Bullpen7979 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Didn't abandon the thread, guys. Sorry if it seemed like it. Was just kinda looking for that "eureka" suggestion. First reply took a week, so i was beginning to think it was not an issue anyone cared to try and solve. Mac filtering is a good thing to check......will keep y'all posted....
  9. quake5254
    Offline

    quake5254 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    642
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philippine
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    I think I've read somewhere here or a friends own experience having the same problem with netgear. Have you tried with a different router?
  10. Bullpen7979
    Offline

    Bullpen7979 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Oh yeah. is able to connect to all other routers just fine. it's just this 1 at her job that is a problem.

    Sent from the EVO
  11. quake5254
    Offline

    quake5254 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    642
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philippine
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    I see. That is administrator protected. I'd rather ask the companies IT's permission and say something creative that would make work more productive. Other than that, I doubt. I have secured my CCTV's and would be impossible for others to hack in. Safety reasons.
  12. leirdal
    Offline

    leirdal iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've had problems with mixed 802.11b+g+n bandwith on routers. It often helps to choose only one of those if your ios device has problems, but remember to choose one that all devices can use. In these cases the g standard seems to be the safest.


    Regards
    Jon Leirdal
    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
  13. joeyteel
    Offline

    joeyteel iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    194
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    That was already tried. That's what the speed setting he mentioned changing on the router actually changes :)

    The wife already has permission. He mentioned that in the first paragraph :)
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2012
  14. Bullpen7979
    Offline

    Bullpen7979 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Joey, thanks for backing me up here. Per your suggestion, I'll check Mac filter switch.

    My wife is actually the tech head in the office when it comes to computers. It only falls to me when she is unable to work out the problem. I had permission enough to be poking around in the router config, but again, did not want to compromise anything as there are medical records involved, so security takes absolute precedence.

    Looks like rooting the phone is looking more and more like the way to accomplish this. I never imagined that wireless connectivity would be all that difficult to achieve. I haven't tried yet, but I'm pretty sure I could drag my laptop in and it would jump right on....I might have to do that to keep working the problem.
  15. leirdal
    Offline

    leirdal iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I noticed he said he had tried going down to 54, but that means he still can be running both b and g, thats why I mentioned it.

    Anyway, I can't help much more than that little fact. It's a tricky one to solve. Some routers just are anoying and need to be replaced.



    Regards
    Jon Leirdal
    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
  16. Bullpen7979
    Offline

    Bullpen7979 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Had to work late today, but I think I may have found a solution in the "guest" network option . If we can get the ok to turn that on, configure with some less restrictive settings (lower level encryption, single band mode, etc. ) that would just pass internet and not allow network access (since for her ipad there would really be no immediate need to do that. I had hoped to have a little more time (did not quite get it working),, but that might be the ticket. Not a direct fix; more a workaround, but I'll take what I can get at this point.
  17. Bosvaark
    Offline

    Bosvaark iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    388
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    The only solution is to briefly turn of wifi security, test turn on , then try Mac filter off under wifi, then firewall off , and if the router has it turn Mac filter off under firewall.

    Last some routers support ip range filtering.

    Another thought is the DHCP setting could be set to limiting only say 10 computers , and the iPad is the 11th so no ip address , or there is no DHCP and it is all static IP.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ipad fail to join wifi password
,
ipad failed to join network
,
ipad failed to join wireless network
,

ipad unable to join network

,
ipad unable to join network with password
,
ipad unable to join the network wifi
,
ipad unable to join wireless network
,
netgear unable to join network ipad netgear
,
netgear unable to join the network
,
netgear wn-1000rp unable to join network
,
the wifi network could not be joined
,
the wifi network could not be joined mac
,
unable to join network ipad
,
unable to join network netgear router
,
unable to join network with correct pword
,
unable to join tether ipad
,
unable to join the network password
,
why unable to join netgear42
,
wi-fi network could not be joined mac
,
wifi unable to join network on ipad