What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Unable to access any files other than Camera Roll images from PC

iThalia

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I am new to iPad and IOS...
Trying to figure out how to get my data off the iPad and some new items on it.

I am aware that each app is an "island" and it stores its data in internal folders, not accessible from outside

I have some pictures - and they are all stored in the "Photos" folder or something.
I have tried to organize them in albums, so that I can access them easier from some apps, without having to scroll through 1500 photos each time.
I have now "Camera Roll", "My Photo Stream", and some named albums. I had an unpleasant surprise when , after "copying" photos to my named albums, I decided to delete the originals in "Camera Roll" - and they disappeared from albums as well, with seemingly no possibility of recovering.

There seems to be a backup... but no way to access it short of wiping off my device.

So now I am getting smart - since I also need to free space on my device to install IOS 8 (I didn't want to, but it seems the only way to access backup is through iCloud Drive, which is apparently somehow backing up my data but is not accessible unless I enable it on my device - which requires IOS 8... huh ???)

With the iPad connected to my pc, i moved all photos to pc. Great ! ! Of course with no possible way to recover the iPad organization i spent time to do in albums... so sad. But, I only have access to DCIM... and the photos on so-called "My Photo Stream" are still on iPad with no possibility to access them from the outside.