TV Listing App

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by pross, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. pross
    Offline

    pross iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am looking for a TV Listing App (like TV Guide) that allows me to modify the channel name or the displayed channel number. My cable company use clear digital. and my tv list the channels like 26.1 for ABC channel 7. All of the listing apps I have seen show me the channel 2 listing and i want it to say channel 26.1. I have found several apps, but none of theme seem to let me edit the channel name or displayed number
  2. kierandill
    Offline

    kierandill iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Not an app, but point your browser at titantv.com
  3. LannyC
    Offline

    LannyC iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,076
    Thanks Received:
    354
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    St. Louis, USA
    Ratings:
    +382 / 0
    Doesn't the TV Guide app show the appropriate channel numbers when you choose your provider from the list for your area?

    milliHelen: amount of beauty required to launch one ship.
  4. pross
    Offline

    pross iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No. The TV Guide shows the classic channel listing (ie: 2 - ABC, 4 - NBC, 5 - FOX, etc). Fortunately for me, I do not need a cable box to get the digital channels because they have QAM tuners in them. However, it apparently uses EIA channel numbering instead of PSIP so that on my TV the channels ar 27.1 = 2-ABC, 26.4 = 4-NBC, 26.5 = 5-FOX). So I can get a guide which shows the "right" channels for my area but the guide show 2, 4, 5 not 27.1, 26.4, 26.5 like my TV. I have an app on my Galaxy S3 (USA TV Droid) that allows me to rename/renumber the channels to match what my TV uses. Hopefully I explained that correctly
  5. pross
    Offline

    pross iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    But I don't see where titantv lets me rename the channels or numbers. I have to enter 27.1 on my remote to go to channel 2. I want to modify the listing for channel 2 to show 27.1 instead of 2.

    NEVERMIND - I'm wrong, once I log in I can edit the channels. Thanks Kierandill for the tip. Looks like there may be an app as well. I'll have to play with this and see if it does what i want.
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2013
  6. pross
    Offline

    pross iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Titan TV does' t pass the wife test (most important). Any other suggestions for tv listing app that I can edit channel names/numbers?

Share This Page