1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

TUTORIAL - Re-restore IOS 5.x on iPad2 and iPad3 using redsn0w and SHSH Blobs

Discussion in 'Jailbreaking & Hacking Tutorials & How-To Guides' started by f4780y, Oct 14, 2012.

  1. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    Problems like the one you are describing are almost certainly related to your PC. Interruption to the communications are a good indicator that something is interfering with the process. Anti-virus, malware, Windows Defender, firewall etc. are usually to blame.
    It could also be the use of a bad USB port, hub, incorrect cable, etc. (using a cable that was not for the iPad can often have adverse effects on restore operations - particularly older iPhone or iPod cables). Finally, ensure you have the latest iTunes as the drivers need to be current.

    Disable as much as you can before you start, ensure you are connected directly to the motherboard (no hubs), and try again. If you still can't get it to work on your PC, the best bet is to try someone else's.

    Good luck.
  2. trippinjim
    Offline

    trippinjim iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Appreciate assistance but none of that seems to apply. Even with AV off, Def off, firewall off, different cables, different USB ports -both USB 2.0 & 3.0, while running the latest itunes version.....and THEN doing it all again on my other PC; I'm still getting exactly the same error in exactly the same point in the process. The iOS is RIGHT! It's the original firmware supplied with the ipad so there can be no doubt about the file. :(
  3. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    Ahhh, was the current version of IOS on there, factory installed? In other words, you did not install it on there yourself?
    If so, you will not be able to re-restore. Factory installed IOS is initialised in a way which is different from a standard restore, which would account for the message you are seeing. (see the note at the start of the tutorial, which I've updated to make more explicit about new devices).

    I hadn't come across this issue myself but the dev-team did warn against this scenario, and I assumed you would get a better error message, but this is likely what has happened in both these cases.

    There won't be any work around for it AFAIK. Your APTicket cannot be made to match the blobs you have saved. :(
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
  4. trippinjim
    Offline

    trippinjim iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Right, well that's that then.:) I guess we've managed to continue the testing process and evolve the tutorial one step further.

    Doesn't help me unfortunately as I wander off to itunes and 6.01 while waiting impatiently for the next jailbreak. :(

    f4780y :thumbs:
  5. frutips123
    Offline

    frutips123 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello all,
    so I have an ipad 2 recently updated to 6.0, and with this tutorial I was able to successfully go back into the 4.3.5 firmware.
    However, I am now trying to 'upgrade' back to 5.1.1. I follow the steps again and I can see the processes loading 4.3.5 and when it is time to load the 5.1.1. it gives me the message 'Service would not start" and just leaves me hanging on the apple and loading bar screen on my ipad.

    I am trying to update on a PC, and I am running the application as administrator. Anyone have ideas how I can go abouts updating form 4.3.5 to 5.1.1?
    I have all the blobs saved on TinyUmbrella as well. (both the 4.3.5 and 5.1.1)
  6. chaoscreater
    Offline

    chaoscreater iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    I'm having the EXACT same problem! Every time I use redsn0w to downgrade to iOS 4.3.5, it ALWAYS works. But whenever I tried to downgrade to 5.1.1, it always shows "Wouldn't start service". I followed everything on the 1st page and read through everyone's comments in all of the pages. My TinyUmbrella and host file etc are correct (otherwise I wouldn't have downgraded to iOS 4.3.5 using redsn0w). But somehow I just can't downgrade to 5.1.1, and YES I DO have the 5.1.1 shsh blobs saved. I tried both local and remote but still shows "Wouldn't start service"......

    Oh and my iTunes is the latest v11.2.


    NVM got it working!!!

    I dunno what I did, but I think it's because I upgraded to the latest firmware (iOS 6.1.3 as of this writing) then trying the exact same method again. So ya, redsn0w downgrades to iOS 4.X (which is iOS 4.3.5 for me as that's the only one that has my saved shsh blobs), then upgraded to iOS 5.1.1 (again, with my saved shsh blobs) and somehow it went through perfectly without the "wouldn't start service" error.
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013
  7. upgrade
    Offline

    upgrade iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    california
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've been struggling on this for a day now I cant get it to 5.1.1 or 6.0.1.. I have the same setup Ipad 2 - 4.3.5... I only can downgrade but can upgrade pass 4.3.5. I usually get an error message 3194 if I upgrade to 6.0.1.. When I upgrade to 6.1.3 and downgrade to 6.0.1 or 5.1.1 it gives me an error message. The only ipsw i can downgrade to is 4.x without error. Can you tell me exactly what you did? Did you use local or remote?

    Haha NVM too I guess I figured it out.. I closed redsn0w and restarted under run as admin and it worked. Now, will this work with 6.0.1?
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2013
  8. chaoscreater
    Offline

    chaoscreater iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hey man, well first of all I didn't get a particular error number like your "3194" or whatever. I simply got the message "wouldn't start service", that's it. Secondly, I tried both local and remote, and already ran redsn0w as admin since the start. It just somehow worked after so many tries, dunno how I did it because I didn't change my method or anything else, I just kept trying the same procedures.

    As for 6.0.1, I've tried that but there was a problem with aptickets, so I stayed on 5.1.1 in the end.
  9. Broxin
    Offline

    Broxin iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As i see noone upgraded in the last time i have a Problem here :-(

    i wanted to re-restore my iPad2 3G Wifi GSM from 5.0.1 to 5.1.1.

    i have blobs (SHSHs) for 4.3.5 / 5.0.1 / 5.1.1

    as i ran this tutorial readsn0w completed with an error 37. i disabled and uninstalled all AV and Firewall software and now it gets to a point where it says :
    couldn't obtain fresh baseband blobs,it's probably no longer being signed.
    baseband : ICE3_04.12.05_BOOT_02.13.RELEASE.bbfw

    60cGUgU.png


    now only one forum was a chinese one where they had the same problem (they updated the 3G iPad also in the last month)and said that with the ios 7.0.2 the iPad baseband changed and the old one is not signed anymore


    should i stitch a 5.1.1 firmware with the newest baseband from the 7.0.2 firmware with the TinyCFW app and try the rerestore again ?

    Damn !! i needed the ipad with a new nav app i wanted to buy for a trip tomorrow and now this poop...

    i would loove if i would get some help before i update the baseband and make a mistake :-/


    EDIT: i tried it on another clean laptop with a fresh installation of everything with out tinyumbrella installed ever in it (ofcourse also the newest itunes.)
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2013
  10. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,237
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +226 / 0
    You can try using TinyCFW to preserve the baseband then use the custom firmware made with RedSn0w. The idea of it would be almost identical to that of the iPhone 3G/3GS/4 and RedSn0w's baseband preservation.

    If not, depending on which specific app you're referring to, you can modify the device check to work with 5.0.1 if it requires 5.1/5.1.1 and above, but that's assuming it's not calling on the later aspects of iOS 5.1+.
  11. Broxin
    Offline

    Broxin iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hmm right now, tinycfw wont run on any win7 machine at my home :-(
    well my iPad is in recovery mode because the rerestore failed. i cant use it, tried everything. installing 4.3.5 gets me the same error.

    is this a error on my side or is this normal now for the 3G ipad2 and users have to wait for an update of redsn0w ?

    can i just do this here :

    can i just put the new baseband into the 5.1.1 ipsw so redsn0w can do the update ?

    as i understand it the redsn0w needs to ask apple for the actual baseband signing online, am i right ?


    i dont want to upgrade the baseband if it will prevent me to do a jailbreak of my ipad2 in the future. but as it seems i cant restore it either right now :-(




    also i found this here :-/
    i installed in the past the 5.1.1 but gone back to 5.0.1 for a long time. the re-restore worked fine then.
    i have saved a info file with the "Identify" function of redsn0w from my ipad as it was on 5.0.1 where it says that i had a BaseBandVersion 04.12.05
    which confuses me because this version was introduced by Apple first in IOS 6.1 that i NEVER installed :-/



    EDIT:
    i cant use the "Select IPSW" and "Custom IPSW" option in redsn0w because its not supported for ipad2 :-/
    so even if i put in the newest baseband from the 7.0.4 i dont know if i can install it :-(


    what do you experienced guys think i should do ?
    will the new ICE3_04.12.09_BOOT_02.13.Release baseband from ios7.0.4 prevent redsnow from restoring the device into 5.1.1 ?
    (if it will ever work to putting the new baseband into the 5.1.1 ipsw like mentioned above)



    EDIT:
    well... woow
    is this true for redsn0w also ? so everyone with a 3G ipad2 now that tries re-restoring with this method here will be stuck with a nonworking ipad ?




    EDIT:
    Nice, as musclenerd tweeted on 26.09.2013 :
    so the re-restore feature is obsolete for ios 5.x.x on an ipad2 3g GSM as it seems...




    have you guys any solution ?


    you should include a warning in the guide on the first page
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2013
  12. oregonmike
    Offline

    oregonmike iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    oregon
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You should be able to downgrade
  13. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,237
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +226 / 0
    It does not. Re-restoring works on the iPad 2 and iPad 3 going from iOS 5.X to 5.X as stated in the original post. Only the iPad 2 can be downgraded to iOS 5.X because it uses iOS 4.X as a bridge. If the iPad 3 did have iOS 4.X developed for it (theoretically), then yes, you can downgrade back to iOS 5.X assuming you have blobs.
  14. kidneyshot
    Offline

    kidneyshot iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I had THE same problem and now I have the newest iOS . There is sth wrong with the baseband and the guide should be rewritten since I think some steps has change and it's very unclear what to do.
  15. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,237
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +226 / 0
    It's a long shot, but see if using TinyCFW to create a baseband preservation IPSW, then using that with RedSn0w works around the issue. I haven't kept up with the baseband changes on the iPad since iOS 5.1 and I haven't had the luxury to try it out on a data iPad :X
  16. Broxin
    Offline

    Broxin iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    this wont work either because:
    1: if you want to flash a cfw to an ipad you need to use an old version of itunes and an old version of itunes does NOT
    work with the newest version of the ios7.0 baseband firmware stitched to the ios 5.1.1.

    there is NO way at the moment to downgrade, as the only app that is capable of doing it is redsn0w and it is NOT updated for the newest baseband. so only option is to wait.

    oh and baseband PRESERVATION does not work on an ipad2 3g gsm. the baseband HAS to be upgraded to the newest version everytime you do a restore.

    sad the thread creator does not reply or edit the main post with a warning...
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2013
  17. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    This is an internet forum, and I'm sorry you feel the need to criticise the current accuracy of a post that I created over a year ago, and worked perfectly well for many months and for countless re-restores, and is still perfectly valid for non-cellular devices.

    It isn't possible on a forum such as this to keep every post up to date with the latest information for every permutation of device and firmware in the market, but it was never anyones intention to ignore the fact that this guide is no longer valid for 3G devices, so a warning will be placed on the front page.
    • Like Like x 3
  18. Broxin
    Offline

    Broxin iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Sorry f4780y, wasnt my intention to critisize your work here, i got emotional about this issue.

    dont wanted to get you angry, love this board here.

    peace again please :)

    Bye
  19. santic
    Offline

    santic iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Argentina
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, i tried the method but now i got an iPad 2 in a looped Recovery Mode. Here's what i've done:

    I had a 4.3.3 wi-fi jailbroken iPad 2 and i wanted to update to iOS 5.x. I had blobs for version 4.3.5, 5.1.1 and some for iOS 6. The thing is in order to upgrade to iOS 5 i had to use a restore file and blobs of an iOS 4. So i tried to install 4.3.5, and sometimes it said that "Service wouldn't start". I got the chance to finish the installation once, but after that mi iPad keeps turning on in Recovery Mode and despite all my attempts to get it out of that state, it keeps doing that. Can anyone help me? the problem is that i cannot go back to 4.3.3 because i dont have the blobs-

    Also i've tried to upgrade to iOS 5 via redsn0w but i couldn't do it

    Please tell me i'm not f----- up
  20. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,237
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +226 / 0
    Restore to iOS 7 fresh, then downgrade. Assuming your iOS 5 blobs includes working APTickets, you can downgrade through the iOS 4.3.5 blobs to bridge.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

couldn't obtain fresh baseband blobs.

,
how to re restore ios
,
ios clean install
,

ipad 2 ios 5.1.1 re restoring error couldn't fresh baseband

,
ipad restore redsnow espaã±ol
,

re redtoring ipad 2 with shsh blobs

,

re restore ios 5.0.1 in redsnow obsolete

,

re restoring ios 5.1.1 error couldn't fresh baseband

,
re-restore ios 5.1.1 ipad 2 with shsh
,
redsn0w re-restore coudn't obtain fresh baseband
,

redsn0w recovery

,

redsn0w recovery fix ipad 2

,
redsnow fix for ipad 3 error 1
,

redsnow ipad 2 restore

,
redsnow ipad recovery
,
redsnow restore couldn t obtain fresh baseband
,
reset ipad2 ios5
,
restore ipad mini wifi redsn0w
,
restore ipad with redsn0w
,
using redsnow