TUTORIAL - Re-restore IOS 5.x on iPad2 and iPad3 using redsn0w and SHSH Blobs

Discussion in 'Jailbreaking & Hacking Tutorials & How-To Guides' started by f4780y, Oct 14, 2012.

  1. JCJeff
    Offline

    JCJeff iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I'm getting that very same error, I retried so many times, upgrading back to 6.0 and downgrading again. Service Wouldn't start after restoring to 4.3.5
    Did you press Set up as new iPad? Then what? Sync apps or nothing?
  2. Bgmnt
    Offline

    Bgmnt iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Failed! Here's my story...
    Have an iPad 2 CDMA 5.1.1 with saved blobs for 5.0.1 & 5.1.1
    Followed steps as stated, clicked remote blobs since I knew both blobs are on cydia. I've been JB on 5.0.1 & 5.1.1
    Every picture in the steps in the post one appeared on my device, all the way to "Verifying Restore", then it says "updating baseband" then failed! (I don't remember what the error said, it was simple, although I can't get this error again!)
    I tried again, except now it says "the firmware on the device cannot be determined. Do you want to proceed as if some version of 5.x is installed on the device?", I click "yes" (when I click "no" it says I need a 4.x blob)
    Then it says "Is it specifically 5.1.1?" I click "yes" because that's what's on there or at least was on there. Then the process begins again making it all the way to the "updating baseband" part.
    I also know for fact that the 5.1.1 FW was installed fresh via itunes before jailbreaking 5.1.1.

    This is nerve racking. I don't normally post my problems, I just figure them out. This time I'm pretty sure my firmware is erased and I'm stuck in an Apple logo loop when Im not on the "connect to itunes" screen. Exiting the recovery mode just kicks the logo loop into play. Redsnow STILL READS my device though. I don't know what question to ask the forum but any input would be greatly appreciated. I'm no noob, but NOT an expert either.
  3. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    Sounds like you hosts file is not pointing to Apple, possibly becasue you used TinyUmbrella but did not set all the options correctly before exiting?
    The Baseband must still get signature authorisation from Apple to be updated, hence the reason it will fail if you are pointing to Cydia.

    To make sure your hosts file is pointing back to Apple, follow this process:

    • Download the latest version of TinyUmbrella from here - The Firmware Umbrella - TinyUmbrella
    • Once downloaded, start the TU program
    • Switch to the "Advanced" tab
    • UNTICK the option which says "Set Hosts to Cydia on Exit"
    • Close TinyUmbrella.

    Alternatively, if you know what the "hosts" file is and how to edit it manually (typically it is a hidden system file and you must use Admin / root access to edit it), remove ALL references to gs.apple.com from the file and save it...

    • On Windows the hosts file can be found in: C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts
    • On OSX the hosts file lives in /private/etc/hosts

    Then follow the tutorial again. You were doing the right steps (Yes, it is 5.x and Yes, it is 5.1.1 specifically). The baseband install will be a success if you correct the issue above.

    Also, we appreciate issues like this are frustrating, but please only post a problem once as per the forum rules. It makes it easier to ensure you get a good response, and folks don't waste time on issues which are already answered elsewhere. I will delete your other duplicate thread.

    Good Luck.
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
  4. jor412
    Offline

    jor412 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pasig
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Hi, I have an iPad 3 on 5.1 (9B176). I plan on upgrading to 5.1.1 and then jailbreaking it. I just downloaded Tiny Umbrella and saved my blobs. I'm not entirely sure if I'm doing the right thing.

    The "Set Hosts to Cydia on Exit" box was grayed out to begin with. I edited the hosts file following the instructions above. Did I do the right thing? Am I supposed to now save my blobs again?
  5. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    You should not need to use Tiny Umbrella to save your blobs for this tutorial. redsn0w will happily retrieve them from Cydia, but to be clear they MUST already have been saved many months ago when 5.1.1 was being signed. You can't save them now. All you can do is transfer them from Cydia to your PC if you want to (but it is not necessary for this tutorial).

    Just follow the tutorial and at step 7 press "Remote". If your blobs are saved on Cydia they will be retrieved and used.
  6. jor412
    Offline

    jor412 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pasig
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Sorry, I'm a bit lost here. The last jailbreaking I did was on an iPhone 3G and this whole blobs thing is new to me. I just bought my iPad 3 two weeks ago. I'd like to upgrade to 5.1.1 and then do a jailbreak. This tutorial is the closest thing I've found to being able to do that. Anyway, I have no idea how to get or save my blobs, so I used Tiny Umbrella. The latest version said that Cydia isn't able to reliably retrieve blobs anymore.
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2012
  7. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    No problem, you might like to read our FAQ here - http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-hacking/59291-shsh-blobs-faq-new-improved-2012-a.html

    But, the short answer is, you are not entitled to any blobs except those for IOS 6.0 which are the blobs Apple are currently providing. You cannot save older blobs. You must get them at the time Apple are providing them and save them away for future use. You can't get them retrospectively. There is no way round the system. You can't even get your 5.1 blobs off your iPad3. The only thing you can get is 6.0 today.

    So you unfortunately given your scenario, you are stuck on 5.1 or you can upgrade to 6.0, neither of which have a current jailbreak. So, your best advice is probably to get up to IOS 6.0 and wait for the next jailbreak. You can check the status of it here - http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-hacking/89458-official-ios6-jailbreak-status-thread.html
    It will likely be many weeks, maybe even a few months before a 6.x jailbreak is released for the iPad though :(

    Oh, and just for the record, both TinyUmbrella and Cydia are both reliable. They just can't break the rules of what is possible. i.e., they can't get blobs that were not saved at the right time in the past.
  8. jor412
    Offline

    jor412 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pasig
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    f4780y, thanks. I get it now. And thanks as well for the link. I guess I'm stuck for now then.
  9. seamus517
    Offline

    seamus517 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Is there a way to tell if an iPad 3 was last updated OTA? It is on 5.1.1 and I have blobs, but do not know how it was updated.

    What happens if it was done OTA and I try this procedure? Will I get stuck having to go to 6, or will it just fail and I can stay on unrestored 5.1.1?

    Thanks!
  10. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,485
    Thanks Received:
    1,738
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,870 / 0
    AFAIK - there is no way to tell how your iPad was updated (if you don't remember or if someone else did it).

    According to the redsn0w developers, the re-restore will fail very early in the process if your blobs are from a factory or OTA iOS. But, you can easily back out of the re-restore process. It won't make you go to iOS 6 - you'll just have to back out of the program and be back where you started.

    Marilyn
  11. seamus517
    Offline

    seamus517 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks...very good to know.

    The previous owner says it was not done OTA, so it looks like I'm good to go.
  12. JCJeff
    Offline

    JCJeff iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I still get "Service Wouldn't Start" tried Set up as New iPad but still error
  13. dxdiadora
    Offline

    dxdiadora iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hi there! i got a problem which i can't find any answer of it anywhere....
    info about me:
    trying to re restore ipad 3 GSM from 5.1.1 to 5.1.1.
    i have shsh blobs of 5.1.1 and on cydia either.
    i am stuck between bootlogo-DFU or recovery mode.
    i tried many in many ways to do it but anything i do it stops right after extracting the .dmg's(which is after redsnow starts the re restore proccess).
    the error which i get is: "Re-restore failed You might have guessed the current FW incorrectly, and it may not really be iPhone3,3_5.1.1_9B206"

    any help out there
    :(?????
  14. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    That message indicates you are tying to use an iPhone3 firmware file NOT and iPad3 firmware file. Check you have downloaded the correct firmware!
    • Like Like x 1
  15. dxdiadora
    Offline

    dxdiadora iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ty for the fast response btw :)

    ohh XD i copied that message from other forum and forgot to change it to 5.1.1 ipad 3....
    i use the right firmware (also i tried couple of sources to download from)
    let me show you the proccess with screenshots:
    1st: after i chooose the 5.1.1 firmware, it asks me if i want from 5.1.1 to 5.1.1, i press yes:1-redsnow.jpg
    2nd: it starts the proccess and preparing all that restore stuff(rebuilding the ipsw):red-2.jpg
    3rd: after it finish to make the restore ipsw it is starting to "talk" to the ipad andf tell him to start.(but still... the ipad shows black screen and suddenly apple bootlogo -without- progress bar):red-3.jpg
    4th: the ipad seems not to start the restore, but try to turn on regulary (which is not working) and i get this error message: red-4.jpg

    please help :(.... should i give up? or should i wait more? i am tired of this and really need the jailbreak.. so aint gonna do ios6.

    edit:
    i tryed few more things and gave up to ios 6.... its pretty good except of the appstore.
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012
  16. OKAS
    Offline

    OKAS iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hi all,im a ipad 3 user ,and i upgraded my 5.1.1 to 6.0.1 and i was wondering how could i downgrade from 6.0.1 to 5.1.1

    thank you
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2012
  17. OKAS
    Offline

    OKAS iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    can any body help me please
  18. OKAS
    Offline

    OKAS iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    is there anything i can do?
  19. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    You could have a little more patience please! 3 posts in 15 minutes and 2 visitor messages on my profile is excessive! ;)

    There is unfortunately nothing you can do. Once the iPad3 is on 6.x it cannot be downgraded under any circumstances.
  20. trippinjim
    Offline

    trippinjim iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    Sorry to be a one post wonder and without wanting to offend by cutting straight to the chase but......

    I've encountered exactly the same error using exactly the same software and firmware downloads. I haven't got the wrong IPSW and I'm trying to recover an ipad 3 with 5.1.1 with blobs saved on Cydia and verified. It's not us, there clearly must be an issue? :)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
clean ios for ipad 2
,

couldn't obtain fresh baseband blobs.

,
downgrade ice3 04.12.09.release
,
how to re restore ios
,

ipad 2 ios 5.1.1 re restoring error couldn't fresh baseband

,
ipad3,1 5.1 9b176 shsh
,

re redtoring ipad 2 with shsh blobs

,

re restore ios 5.0.1 in redsnow obsolete

,

re restoring ios 5.1.1 error couldn't fresh baseband

,
redsn0w downgrade ipad 2
,
redsn0w ios 7.1 for ipad3
,

redsn0w recovery

,

redsn0w recovery fix ipad 2

,

redsnow ipad 2 restore

,
redsnow ipad recovery
,
restore ipad mini wifi redsn0w
,
restore ipad redsn0w
,
restore ipad with redsn0w
,
using redsnow
,
using tiny umbrella to downgrade ipad 2 ios 7