TUTORIAL - Jailbreak the iPad2 and iPad3 on 5.1.1 With Absinthe 2.0

Discussion in 'Jailbreaking & Hacking Tutorials & How-To Guides' started by Mickey330, May 26, 2012.

  1. zphone

    zphone
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    465
    Thanks Received:
    14
    You realize that Internet servers have outages sometimes. Did you just retry to refresh multiple times over several hours? Have you tried pinging the source urls from the same wireless network your iPad is on?
     
  2. Mickey330

    Mickey330
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,892
    Thanks Received:
    2,225
    Yes, sometimes Cydia's servers get overloaded and the best action is to try again. One tip, however, is to go to Cydia and be on the Changes tab. In the upper left corner is the Refresh button. Press that and then wait - while doing nothing else (in Cydia or on the iPad). Allow the servers to update your iPad's account and packages. This may take a bit of time but have patience.

    Once all the packages have loaded (and you've seen no error notices), then everything should be god to go; you'll be able to browse and search Cydia with all the packages showing. Again, the key is to hang in there with patience. Have to have time to work/load...

    Good luck.

    Marilyn

    Edit to add: And you don't need to mess with the default sources. That's a good way to get your repos and lists all messed up - and it's very much NOT recommended. Again, just hit the Refresh button and wait. It will load up the repos and such, but it's very dependent on your Internet speed and the amount of demand on Cydia's server(s).
     
    #52 Mickey330, Jun 6, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  3. 1million

    1million
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,036
    Thanks Received:
    21
    I'm JB on 5.0.1 on my iPad2. Is there any advantage of having 5.1.1 JB? Does 5.1.1 over any new/good features that 5.0.1 doesn't have?
     
  4. snelson

    snelson
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi everyone! I have just joined and am making my first post, perhaps prematurely as I haven't read all previous posts yet.

    I spent several days trying to JB my ipad2,2 with ios5.1.1 using Absinthe 2.0.4 on my iMacG5 (PPC) under OSX 10.5.8. No luck. It would always fail near end (after reboot and Waiting for process to complete) Hmmm...there seems to be a problem.

    Today I tried with a Mac-mini (Intel) using OSX 10.5.8. JB completed just fine. So ...

    Absinthe requires an Intel Mac, although it will run on PPC it will not work. This should be explicitly stated on the greenpois0n site, but isn't.

    Repeat, Absinthe requires an Intel Mac! redsn0w also requires an Intel Mac (won't run on PPC even).
     
  5. zuluwhiskeyfox

    zuluwhiskeyfox
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I have been trying unsuccessfully to JB my iPad 2,1 using Absinthe 2.0.4 and a MacBook intel duo core OSX 10.7.2. The process stalls at "waiting for reboot". I'm still in jail.
     
  6. Yakuzagang5

    Yakuzagang5
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Whenever I would click reload it didn't do anything. Normally it sits at "Packages: Done" forever, but it just flashes the black bar and seems to show that it's done reloading.

    And yes, I'm not stupid, I know servers go down, but it's been giving me the same response each of the last 20+ times I've tried at all hours of the day the last two days.
     
  7. zphone

    zphone
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    465
    Thanks Received:
    14
    You need to check your Internet connectivity. It has to be a problem of getting to the servers to load the packages. If you are on a company network they may have prevented that at the firewall.
     
  8. Yakuzagang5

    Yakuzagang5
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I'm at my home wifi, which didnt have any trouble with my fiancées iPhone 4... Idk, it's just extremely annoying lol cause now I have to restore and do it again... This'll be the fourth time lol not to mention all the times it tried to jailbreak but ended up failing lol
     
  9. Sithin

    Sithin
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just jail broke my ipad 3,3. I didn't clear my data first ( i don't have a lot of apps or media), i did however back it up in itunes in case. Used 2.0.4 on windows and it didn't even take 5 minutes.
     
  10. txteevee

    txteevee
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Uggghh. I just successfully jail broke my ipad2 and cydia did not install? I tried to go back and run absinthe again and it told my my device was already jail broken. No cydia notice ever showed up for me. Do I need to go download it?

    I am running iTunes from a windows7 pc. I am clueless as to why I don't see the cydia store.
     

Share This Page


Search tags for this page
absinthe jailbreak grey button
,
how to jailbreak ipad 2 ios 5.1 1 absinthe
,
how to jailbreak ipad2 5.1.1
,
how to jailbreak ipad2 5.1.1 without computer
,
ipad 2 5.1.1 jailbreak
,
jailbreak
,
jailbreak ipad 2 5.1
,
jailbreak ipad 2 5.1.1
,
jailbreak ipad 2 without computer
,

jailbreak ipad2 5.1.1