Traveling US to Canada

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by ChrisDC, Jun 16, 2012.

  1. ChrisDC
    Offline

    ChrisDC iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a 3G iPad on a US AT&T subscription plan. Will it simply work when I go to Canada and automatically renew or is the US plan no good?
  2. AdmiralAdama
    Offline

    AdmiralAdama Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    9,533
    Thanks Received:
    594
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Near the Ionian Nebula, still searching for Earth
    Ratings:
    +602 / 0
    You'll end up roaming on one of the carriers in Canada - Rogers I believe.
    Have sent a link to your private mail. It may be a more affordable option to buy AT&T's Canada Plan before you go.
    AA
  3. Racing_mummy
    Offline

    Racing_mummy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Strawberry Fields
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Double check with your carrier. I have a friend that ended up with a $200 bill from roaming charges!!!
  4. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,262
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +864 / 0
    Where are you going in Canada? Rogers have poor coverage in Northern BC. Your other options are Bell and Telus in the prairies.

    I'm assuming you'll end up with some sort of pay as you go plan.

    Sent from my iPad 4 HD mini
  5. AdmiralAdama
    Offline

    AdmiralAdama Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    9,533
    Thanks Received:
    594
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Near the Ionian Nebula, still searching for Earth
    Ratings:
    +602 / 0
    I spend time on the north shore of Lake Erie in the summer. I have a Canadian service provider
    but on occasion a Nextel (U.S.) cell will expand and overtake my service providers cell and I get a nasty surprise on my next statement.

    AA
  6. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,575
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,120 / 1
    Hi there--I am going to move this to General Discussions.

    Thanks!

Share This Page