1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

TIPS AND TRICKS - for those of us who don't know!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by lawhawk, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. PeterJMelb
    Offline

    PeterJMelb iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    231
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Hello T Poet!
    I always try to do without stuff until it is absolutely necessary!
    So I did not select Quick time at the iTunes download.
    As you can see in the end I needed it more than I did not want it!
    Yikes does that make sense?
  2. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,975
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,975 / 1
    It makes perfect sense. :)

    I've done the same myself a time or two. Sometimes I even get away with it.
  3. BettiBz
    Offline

    BettiBz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Don't have a Windows PC, only an ipad. Sent myself a link and will see if I can get it. Maybe it's not available on ipad..only pcs.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. BettiBz
    Offline

    BettiBz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    When I tapped the link I sent myself it went back to same page I tapped to get it..nowhere
    Never installed -apple iTunes as it was already on iPad, but no quick time with it! Guess I don't really need it if its a paid app.
  5. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,975
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,975 / 1
    QuickTime is only for desktop PC's. You can't load it on the iPad, and you should not have to. The iPad already has the QuickTime playback engine built into the OS.
  6. peachesandolivia
    Offline

    peachesandolivia iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you for mentioning that. I have just signed up for a workshop on the cloud, which mystifies me.:mad:
  7. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,975
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,975 / 1
    Sounds like fun. Let us know how it goes.
  8. LLL
    Offline

    LLL iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As you are happily discovering new features on iOS7, such as the ability to make a FaceTime call without having to do it face-to-face, you may also be dismayed to find that some of the old tricks no longer work.

    For example, to close an app and restart it the old way, you'd press the Home button a couple times on the Home screen to display the application icons at the bottom of the screen. Then you would hold down the app icon (such as the iCMTGIS II icon) briefly until a "-" symbol shows up by that icon. Then you would tap on the "-" symbol by the application icon to turn it off. You would press the Home button to complete the action then run the app by tapping on its icon.


    On iOS7, when you press the Home button a couple times on the Home screen, the icons of the running apps are displayed at the bottom of the screen. A frame is also displayed for each active application icon. To close an app, drag the corresponding frame up until you have pushed it out of the Home screen. To run the app again, press the Home button then tap the application icon.


    Why would you want to close an app? Sometimes an app may crash because there are too many other apps open and using up the resources. You can use the above procedure to close some of the other apps.
  9. Beards
    Offline

    Beards iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chesterfield UK
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Don't forget you can now close up to 3 Apps simultaneously by dragging 3 running App previews up from the bottom of the screen.
  10. octimus
    Offline

    octimus iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    quite appreciable novelty, thanks
  11. cmyachtie
    Offline

    cmyachtie iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    St.Margarets Bay, NovaS.cotia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This maybe just on the newer iPad's but double tapping the caps lock key also keeps U in caps mode .....and is easier I think.
  12. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,975
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,975 / 1
    Tapping the shift key twice to go into caps lock is what the last paragraph was supposed to describe, though it could certainly have been clearer. It's worked from the first iPad, though the symbols showing the key's state have chcanged a bit.

    Here's how it looks in iOS 7. No more blue, but a line under the arrow instead.

    shiftkey.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  13. cmyachtie
    Offline

    cmyachtie iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    St.Margarets Bay, NovaS.cotia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I just swipe them "up and away" , once you see all your apps that R open.
    Don't know if that's common knowledge or not, have read about half of these posts here by now and have not come across this yet.
    Great thread!!!!
  14. cmyachtie
    Offline

    cmyachtie iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    St.Margarets Bay, NovaS.cotia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Does not work for me in IOS 7, "Split&Undock" do show when holding the keyboard key but nothing happens when pressed also it disappears when releasing the keyboard key.....am I not fast enough or is it functional in 7?
  15. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    10,413
    Thanks Received:
    2,559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,840 / 1
    Either you tap it early enough afterwards, or you slide to it. It still works in iOS 7.1:


    image-681909746.jpg



    image-763788515.jpg



    image-2765907251.jpg

    Swiping "up and away" is common knowledge. You'll find this in many troubleshooting steps in the forum. We call it "force closing apps". :)
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2014
  16. gazza959
    Offline

    gazza959 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Useful trick, thank you. Very handy to know
  17. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,975
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,975 / 1
    You have to remember that most of these tips & tricks were posted before iOS 7; which changed quite a few things.
  18. BettiBz
    Offline

    BettiBz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Only way I KNOW HOW TO DO IT,!, don't know what other method he was suggesting?lol
  19. phineasjones
    Offline

    phineasjones iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    How come searching on this thing never gets you anything that has to do with your search. I get people selling stuff and talking about inane stuff that has nothing to do with real problems.
  20. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,975
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,975 / 1
    The built in forum search does not work very well. It's a weakness of the software used to create the forum, I suspect.

    Instead, use the Custom Google Search at the top right of the website. You'll have to do this in a web browser, not the iPF app.

    iPad Forum

    iPFSearch.jpg
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
apple turn off high speed scrubbing ipad
,
bigger thumbnails ipad
,
click home button twice ipad
,
high speed scrubbing rate
,
http:/www.ipadforums.net/ipad-gener....don't-know.html/ioss tips and tricks
,
imap time warner cable
,

ipad forum tips and tricks

,
ipad press home button 2 times
,
ipad scrubbing rate
,
ipad thumbnail photos too small
,
jackie lawson cards on ipad
,
page zipper
,
png ipad numbers and symbols keyboard
,
scrubbing rate on youtube
,
scrubbing rate youtube
,
tdibu
,
time warner cable imap
,
what does scrubbing rate mean on ipad
,
where is the underscore key on ipad
,

youtube scrubbing rate