TIPS AND TRICKS - for those of us who don't know!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by lawhawk, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. b_lombok

    b_lombok iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    im from Indonesia, we dont have verizon here :(
     
  2. b_lombok

    b_lombok iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    how to start use IPAD 2 Verizon (i really confuse) ? it is unlocked for worldwide include indonesia ?at the time i activate the ipad 2, it appears the sign of itunes
     
  3. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    The iPad, or any iOS device for that matter, has to be connected and activated once via iTunes. All you have to do is connect it to your PC and start iTunes.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. rollerd

    rollerd iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Independence, OR
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Don't forget to try applications in both landscape and portrait modes. They are not always the same.
     
  5. madhatter61

    madhatter61 iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    ]Hold down the sleep key at the told of the iPad... what is the "Told"

    please edit so I know what you are talking about
     
  6. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    To take a screenshot, hold the Power button, then press Home button while still holding the power button.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. b_lombok

    b_lombok iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    hi guys, sorry post question too much, does verizon model in IPAD 2 have chips slot ? *like the GSM have a sim card slot ?because i cant find one..
     
  8. darrinaltman

    darrinaltman iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Thank 4 this!
     
  9. darrinaltman

    darrinaltman iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    No, the ATT version is the only one with a slot for a gsm card. Unfortunately you got the wrong version.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. SporkLover

    SporkLover iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
  11. Vulcan

    Vulcan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Not a tip ... but a caution. Ok, call it a "cautionary tip'.

    If you use "Penultimate" .. and enable "wrist protection" ... it will not work ... IF, under the main iPad settings has the following option enabled .... "Settings->Accessibility->Zoom". You should disable that Zoom option. Default is "OFF" and I had turned it on because it allowed me much greater zoom control ... but that messed up my Penultimate app !
     
  12. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    How to synchronize files automatically between Goodreader and a folder on your PC/Mac over wifi, but without internet access.

    1) Setting up goodreader as a network drive (this will make the goodreader folder appear as a hard drive on your computer).

    On Windows 7, this can be done as followed. (Instead of browsing to the folder, add the IP address Goodreader shows when you open Wifi-Transfer)
    www.itechtalk.com/thread3673.html
    On Mac, instructions can be found here:
    www.goodreader.net/gr-man-tr-wifi-mac.html

    At this stage the goodreader network drive can be used pretty much as a thumb drive, so you can copy/cut/move folders/files to your liking.

    For syncing, programs such as Allway Sync can be used.
    For setting up Allway Sync:
    1) Open it, then Add new Job (Ctrl+N)
    2) On the left half browse to a document folder (all documents placed in that folder will synchronize onto the iPad)
    3) On the right half browse to the goodreader network drive

    Now, whenever you start Wifi-Transfer in Goodreader and run Allway Sync, you only have to press Synchronize and all data between the two folders is synchronized.

    This is pretty much a copy of the instructions I had posted in another thread.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011
  13. MARU VALDES

    MARU VALDES iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I am travelling to Europe, Germany, Prague, Budapest, Swiss, Italy, London, Paris, Oslo and Stokholm. What brand of SIM would fit me best? Which one is more unexpensive? Do this one work properly in all those countries or do I need more than one? Where is it better to buy it? I am buying an Ipad 2 Wi-Fi + 3D.

    Thanks
    Maru
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. SporkLover

    SporkLover iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You are probably better off asking that question here: PrePaidGSM.net Forum

    The forum members there are quite familiar with global GSM providers.
     
  15. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    If you are in apps without zoom (i.e. iPF), you can select text quickly:
    Start by having the two finger tips touch each other and then move both fingers in a horizontal movement away from each other.

    For some reason it only works in edit mode, but it is super fast and more accurate than the press'n'hold-select method.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
high speed scrubbing rate
,
http:/www.ipadforums.net/ipad-gener....don't-know.html/ioss tips and tricks
,

ipad forum tips and tricks

,
jackie lawson cards on ipad
,
scrubbing rate on youtube
,
time warner cable imap
,
what does scrubbing rate mean
,
what does scrubbing rate mean on ipad
,
where is the underscore key on ipad
,
youtube scrubbing rate