What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

This This may have been asked before but I couldn't find it.

Wistful_Dreamer

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm sure there's a good chance this question has been asked before (I couldn't find it), but I'm very new to the iPad and really need assistance. I've also tried to find my answers online, but of course everyone has an opinion. I've called iTunes customer service twice and they were equally inept in helping me.

I was planning this weekend to purchase the iPad 2 at the local Apple store but a few things stopped me. I started a secondary checking account so I could use my debit card (I didn't want to use my main one). My questions are: 1) If I use this debit card and for some reason I go over, will it stop the transaction or will I be billed? I worry about hackers also. 2) Is there a way to remove the debit card from the account after making purchases and just add it for each purchase? 3) Is there password protection for purchases? I've heard of problems with this also - that sometimes it doesn't work. This would be my deciding factor in buying one.

Midranger4

iPF Noob
Reaction score
An iTunes account is required and it must be attached to either a credit card, or as you mention debit card.

Unless I missed something there has never been a case where credit card or debit card, or any personal information stored by Apple has ever been compromised. I have a high level of confidence this will remain the case going forward.