What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Thinking About taking the Plunge, Need Advice

DrGrafix

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm probably the only one in my family that _doesn't_ have an iPad. My wife and I both have iMac desktops, we both have iPhones, she has an iPad3, and I have a MBP. Our kids... both out of the house have iPads and so do my grandkids. So I'm thinking of picking up a gently-used iPad and I'm more interested in wifi than a phone. I'm a retired designer who still does a lot of graphics work for friends, and I like to carry around design work. As much as I love my MBP, I find that when allowed to use someone's iPad, it is much more convenient as a tool for showing graphics work.

So I'm currently looking for at least a 32GB or possibly a 64GB unit, preferably black but I can live with white if the right deal pops up. I found someone selling a 64GB black which he says is a LTE and I'm assuming that this is a Verizon-specific device? Since my current family plan carrier is AT&T and I have no interest in changing, what I wanted to know was that can Verizon disable the iPad if you don't use it as a phone, and can I putt my AT&T email parameters in it and use it strictly with wifi? So I just want to know if I should avoid an iPad that is connected in any way to Verizon?

I'm also not adverse to buying a jailbroken iPad as long as I have 100% functionality with wifi, camera, and safari.

TIA!

Mike

scifan57

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
I thought the retina display was introduced in the iPad3 and iPad4? Its only in the iPad air?