What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Thinking about buying an Ipad....why do I/don't I need a USB port???

Smudge

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello,

I am considering buying an Ipad. I am debating as to whether or not I should wait for the 2nd generation ipad or make a move now. I have read where one of the complaints with Ipads is that they do not have a USB port. I have very little experience with the ipad. What does not having a USB port limit me to not being able to do with the ipad? Is this an important missing feature of the ipad? What can I do through itunes or other ways that will accomplish what having a USB port will do? Thanks for any advice.

peled

iPF Noob
Reaction score
every one knows what you can do with a USB port on a Computer.
Question is what it is going to do on the iPAD.
Take a Camera. You would think that the most trivial thing would be to connect it to the iPAD "USB" port , activate some program, and copy all pictures to some directory.
BUT.
Look at how Apple is treating pictures today. You can hardly copy them the way you copy ePUB books or PDF files.
You have to sync it through the iTune or other dedicated programs.

So, what I am saying is, that USB on iPAD-2 Doesn't mean much unless you know what kind of support, they intend to give us.

Would you be able to connect a Memory stick there ?
Would you be able to put there some special USB protection device for special Top secret database ?
Would it support devises other then Camera ?
Would you be able to connect a printer ( What about drivers ?)

For using USB devices properly, you need a "file system" and "driver system"- There is none on the iPAD (For now)

MachThree

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello,