What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sudden failure to sync iCal Calendars via iTunes

iBozz

iPF Novice
Reaction score
At the risk of looking stupid - may i repeat a question posted on the Apple Support Forums?

Normally I wouldn't double post, but not getting this resolved overnight and before leaving for an appointment in the morning (UK time) would be a serious inconvenience - I may even have to revert to a paper diary! :eek:

On the Apple Forums i posted ...

I'm fairly new to iPads, having only bought one 24 hours after the "3" became available in the UK.

I run an i7 iMac under OSX.6.8 Build 10K549 and sync via iTunes v10.6.1 (7) and the iPad is running iOS 5.1.1 (9B206)

To start, all went well apart from a glitch with my Address Book which failed to update on the iPad, a problem resolved by AppleCare's "second tier" techies who identified a corrupt Address Book Group hader.

However, a short while ago, I found that iCal and Calendars were only syncing one way - changes on the iMac were reflected on the iPad but not vice versa.

Tonight, I discovered that no syncing was taking place with calendars at all - a new entry on the iPad didn't reach the iMac and a new appointment on the iMac didn't reach the iPad.

So, perhaps unwisely, as the iMac was more up to date, i decided to take a risk the and use iTunes > iPadDevicesname > Info > Advanced > Calendars option which, according to iTunes would: During the next sync only, iTunes will replace the selected information on this iPad with information from this computer.

Which sounded fine to me and just what the doctor ordered.

But ...

... there's that dreaded word but again ...