Strange behaviour of iTunes 10 during Syncing in Windows 7

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by dsefton, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. dsefton

    dsefton iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Does anyone else experience the strange situation I have when syncing my iPad and iPod in iTunes 10? The bar at the bottom of iTunes starts off by showing the correct amount of free space on the device. But as soon as Stage 1 of the syncing begins, the free space jumps to "Over Capacity by 4.8GB". When the syncing completes, the free space quantity replaces the Over Capacity display. This is quite spurious, so what the hell does this mean? :mad:
     
  2. mslammers

    mslammers iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beavercreek, Ohio (Dayton PO
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Sounds like a programming error.
     
  3. j0yful

    j0yful iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    The strange thing happened to mine, was the opposite. Before itunes 10 i only have 42G of free space. after itunes 10, free space is up i now have 52G of it. :D
     
  4. tobriant

    tobriant iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cypress, TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    In my case, I'm noticing no such problems. My computer uses Win7Ultimate64bit and the starting capacity does not show bogus numbers at any point during the syncing process.
     
  5. cwxmas

    cwxmas iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Over Capacity message when syncing

    ===================
    Yes, exactly the same thing happens on my Ipod Touch when syncing with ITunes 10. I have had nothing but pure grief every time there's an update of iOS. I get various error messages that ultimately result in my having to restore the iTouch to factory condition and the restores are unsuccessful (unknown error), so I lose all my settings, email accounts settings, game histories and levels, databases, etc. It's a nightmare. I have never seen such buggy software. It's happened three times now. Apple users crow about the great Apple products but I wouldn't iTouch one with a 10-foot pole if I hadn't already invested so much time and money on this damn iTouch.
     
  6. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Yes, similar here. During sync the used space drops by several GB, and returns to normal at the end. iTunes 10 Win7 64bit
     
  7. lanimae

    lanimae iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    sydney australia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I use to have this problem with my Iphone 4 becuse the host file added during the jailbreak of my previous ihone (3Gs) would not allow the upgrade. It did not return to normal until I got rid of the host file info. Now now probs with updates.



    quote:-
    Yes, exactly the same thing happens on my Ipod Touch when syncing with ITunes 10. I have had nothing but pure grief every time there's an update of iOS. I get various error messages that ultimately result in my having to restore the iTouch to factory condition and the restores are unsuccessful (unknown error), so I lose all my settings, email accounts settings, game histories and levels, databases, etc. It's a nightmare. I have never seen such buggy software. It's happened three times now. Apple users crow about the great Apple products but I wouldn't iTouch one with a 10-foot pole if I hadn't already invested so much time and money on this damn iTouch.[/QUOTE]
     
  8. George Knighton

    George Knighton iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Culpeper
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm interested in this issue because I have an odd issue with iOS 4.2 Beta 2: The Windows interface reports the drive size of the iPad as 82 GB, which we all know is impossible.
     
  9. matt_90036

    matt_90036 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    L.A.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    iTunes for Windows is nothing but a piece of junk and bad programming. it keeps on crashing on me, it is slow and it also does show incorrect capacity as you have mentioned.
     
  10. lanimae

    lanimae iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    sydney australia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I agree, maybe that's why I HATE it so much. Every time I start it is checking this or sending that. You can't just put something into a folder, you have to convert it or import it or whatever. Every other mp3/merdia player in the world just plays files as they find them. Only itunes wants you to do a little dance while it has a big think about things. And don't get me started on ring tones. Just because apple doesn't want you having mp3's as ring tones, you either have to buy them or go through an elaborate ritual in Itunes. OH GOD SAVE ME!!!!!!
     
  11. weeozy

    weeozy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    im getting this problem i downloaded itunes today started to sync my ipod and it put all me music on it with out asking me so now its 9.5gb over capacity so im restoring it to factory setting to get rid of the music on it coz that the only way i now but it taking the piss iv been waiting 2+ hours for it to finish the 1st stage of restoring :(
     
  12. lanimae

    lanimae iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    sydney australia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    I had the same problem which inlcuding stuffing up my photos. The only way round it was to restore. It happened on my Iphone4 AND Ipad1. Everything is now ok and syncs are normal. I don't know what happened but it cant be just us surely?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ipad help what does over capacity mean
,
ipad is over capacity other and can't find what is so big
,
ipad wont sync overcapacity error
,
itunes over capacity
,
itunes over capacity error
,
itunes reporting ipod over capacity
,
over capacity message in itunes
,
overcapacity from icloud i tunes
,

what does over capacity mean on itunes

,
why does itunes say over capacity