Splashtop Remote and 2Wire - a How-To

Discussion in 'iPad Apps' started by epb, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. epb

    epb iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    888
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    A common question is how to use Splashtop to access your home PC when you're away from home. As punishment for a good deed (setting up my gf) I got to spend a couple of hours walking a friend of hers thru the process over the phone. To save the time of helpful techies everywhere, I wrote this up:

    http://db.tt/HALLvRo

    Thoughts and criticisms will be grudgingly accepted with ill-temper. ;)
     
  2. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,625
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,060 / 0
    I'd be interested in this ... but I can't open this link (iCab won't open it and Safari doesn't do .mht.

    Help?

    Thanks.

    Marilyn
     
  3. epb

    epb iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    888
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    Try the Windows.doc version:

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11836621/splashtop%20and%202Wire.doc

    If those don't work, I can try attaching the file - this is my first time linking people to my dropbox.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
  4. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    O man. Same here!
     
  5. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0

    That worked!
     
  6. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,625
    Thanks Received:
    1,865
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,060 / 0
    Thanks, epb, that link worked. Now to go read it...

    Marilyn
     
  7. Hasty

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Yup nice one.

    Like splashtop as it just works.
     
  8. Spink10

    Spink10 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    626
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Has anyone been able to get splashtop through their net gear router?
     
  9. Dukins

    Dukins iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Aw man this is a God send. I have been trying to figure out Splashtop for the longest. I since switched to Jump, but I prefer Splashtop so I hope this works out for me. Results later lol.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can you use splashtop away from home
,
can you use splashtop from far away
,
does the remote splashtop work?
,
how far away splashtop 2
,

how to use splashtop away from home

,
use splashtop away from home